Canon C100 - Internal Codec vs Prores External - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C500 / C300 Mk. II / C300 / C100 Mk II / C100 and EF / PL lenses.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 8th, 2013, 09:47 AM   #16
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Re: Canon C100 - Internal Codec vs Prores External

The Ninja thing is not just about 4:2:0 vs 4:2:2 - there are times when the AVCHD codec falls apart (the 'AVCHD killed by tree' example above. It's not the way to go for every shoot, but you can SEE the quantisation errors of 4:2:0 on the vectorscope. The trouble is that the near invisible effects of these errors tend to remain invisible for several transcode iterations, then at the 5th or 6th stage, they get exponentially more pronounced until you end up at the viewers' screens.

HD transmission in the UK has been pulled down from 16 mbits to 12 mbits and now 8 mbits in the quest to fit more channels into a given space, and this has affected the end quality at viewers' screens. The better the original quality, the better it will look after the torture of transmission.

And again, the same BBC chap (and his fellow panel members) had a real dig at the 'DSLR for TV' thing - the whole point of the infamous episode of 'House' was to keep the look grungy.

It has to be said, cameras like the Canon 5D Mk2 don't have the resolution - the resolving power - like the C100. Most broadcast cameras should be resolving 1000 lines plus, and the Canon DSLRs barely makes 800. Only the 1D-C has been 'approved' for broadcast use by the BBC.

Apologies for this bit of FS100ness in a C100 forum, but check out the bit that compares the FS100 to EX1 and 5D Mk2 - the C100 achieves EX1-like detail in images over the FS100.

I still think a Ninja is a valuable tool to have at hand - I get more use from my Pix than I do from my mattebox or shoulder rig (and my matte box cost the same as a Ninja), and on a couple of shoots it's been essential. Talking heads aren't going to see much value, but even on the conference last week, it took a fair few hours to get 12 hours of footage per day off SxS cards and into an edit ready format. Had I shot on a Ninja on both cameras at ProRes, it would have been a lot quicker (I'll do that next time! LOL).
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish -
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2014, 03:59 PM   #17
Major Player
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Lake Atitlan, Guatemala
Posts: 341
Re: Canon C100 - Internal Codec vs Prores External

Just to revisit this topic, if one recorded internally, then edited and exported Prores, I presume there would be no further degradation down the broadcast chain (even if the source is not as "clean" as recording Prores)?
Dave Mercer is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:12 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network