Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 26th, 2014, 09:43 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 396
Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

So far I've been letting FCPX transcode but I've been finding the old PsF to progressive buggy. I have to keep checking and changing to progressive.
I have a project that I'm going to do a lot of work in AE before finishing in FCPX. I'd like to work in ProRes so what would be the best program to transcode the footage and have progressive set so I don't have to deal with the PsF problems (specially as I'll be using 2 programs to edit)?
Andrew Maclaurin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2014, 11:21 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lancashire UK
Posts: 496
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

I use Clipwrap to transcode the files to ProRes422 for FCPX Works fine for me.
__________________
Avey
theactionhouse.com
Wayne Avanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2014, 11:25 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 396
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

Hi wayne, can you set the footage to be proper progressive with clip wrap?
Andrew Maclaurin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 26th, 2014, 03:06 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 370
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

Hi Andrew
Yes Clipwrap will help FCPx to correctly interpret the footage as progressive. So no more having the change the setting in FCPx.
Drew Curran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2014, 02:07 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 396
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

Thanks, Drew, would that be the same for After Effects?
Andrew Maclaurin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 27th, 2014, 07:41 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

PMJI with my usual clarion call for 5DtoRGB, but it does help both the Progressive Fields thing and also does a useful amount of smoothing on the Chroma channel - making it somewhere between AVCHD and ProRes (not really, but it actually does help strong reds).

5DtoRGB by Rarevision

There's a free version and a very affordable batch version. Mac and Windows.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2014, 04:24 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 370
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Maclaurin View Post
Thanks, Drew, would that be the same for After Effects?
I don't use AE for much other than some camera tracking and titles etc so I can't say if ClipWrap will help for direct import. I generally export a ProRes clip of a region on the timeline in FCPx to import in to AE.
Drew Curran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2014, 09:10 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 388
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Maclaurin View Post
Thanks, Drew, would that be the same for After Effects?
AE can handle C300 footage natively as far as I know. Unfortunately the drive with my last C300 shot talking heads isnt here or I would check real quick.
__________________
Automotive Multimedia
Justin Molush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2014, 11:02 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Santa Cruz, California
Posts: 33
Re: Transcoding for AE and FCPX- What's best?

I found getting something like a Ninja 2 took care of all my problems and really speeds up post production. A recorder like that takes you from 8bit 4-2-0 to ProRes 10bit 4-2-2 220 Mbps which really helps in AE and green screen. When finished, ust pull out the drive and load the ProRes files into your project. They now run about $800 with drive and also make a decent monitor. The negative is they are bulky.
__________________
Producer/Writer/Director
www.HouseonRodeoGulch.com
Bill Scherer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network