C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 27th, 2015, 09:40 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 256
C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Recently I noticed that, when splitting files (due to size) my C100 is dropping 1-2 frames in between the files. I'm using a 32GB 95mb/sec Sandisk card and don't recall having this problem before.

Anyone else having this problem? Any solutions?

Thanks.
Steve Kimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2015, 11:55 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,706
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Is this within an NLE or playing back via player software? What NLE or software? What OS?
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2015, 01:41 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 256
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Within NLE - Edius.

I've also noted that when syncing multiple cameras with PluralEyes the C100 files are not in sync because of this.
Steve Kimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 01:24 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Are you using the Data Import Utility that came with the camera to get your clips from the cards? It merges them into a single clip with no dropped frames onto your hard drive.
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2015, 03:22 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: LIncolnshire, UK
Posts: 2,051
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

As Jeremiah said, you need to use the camera's data import software. If you just drag and drop files from the card, you won't have the additional data files that enable the linking of the clips.

Roger
Roger Gunkel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 11:42 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new york, Israel
Posts: 124
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Same problem

Can it be downloaded from canons website?
Arthur Abramov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 12:44 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 101
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

hi everyone...is this issue also affecting MP4 recordings? I haven't done very long recordings with the C100 mkii yet..only short ones. Hmm..
thanks
E
__________________
http://www.fandangovideo.com
Canon C100 mark 2, Canon XF300 & XF100, Canon 70D, Sony RX100 iv, Sachtler ACE M etc
Erick Perdomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 01:09 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,706
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Erick Perdomo View Post
hi everyone...is this issue also affecting MP4 recordings?
It should only be an issue with AVCHD.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 02:33 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 256
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthur Abramov View Post
Same problem

Can it be downloaded from canons website?
Unfortunately no. I contacted them. If you don't have version 1, you can't use version 2 (which is what's on the web) and Canon won't provide version 1. They told me to find a different way to do this.

Very disappointing.
Steve Kimmel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 03:01 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson AZ
Posts: 2,207
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

There's another thread on this on the forum and there is apparently a way to get the NLE to do it right - I think you have to copy the whole folder not just the individual clip - or something like that. I'll see if I can find it.

Personally if I'm shooting anything long I just record to the Ninja so I don't have the problem.

I'm guessing that they need a few ms to close out the file and start a new one and they record the "missing" frames in a different place on the SD card (pre-existing file???) instead of buffering them internally in the camera. The Ninja apparently records to a few seconds long memory buffer and then to the media so it has time to retry a disk error. Just a wild A-- guess on my part of course.
Jim Andrada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 03:38 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI
Posts: 626
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

For those using Adobe Premiere, copy ENTIRE memory card contents to hard drive, keeping original folder structure. In Premiere, do NOT use the "File > Import", rather use "Media Browser". This recognizes spanned clips properly and imports into Premiere to look like one seamless clip! Have not tried with C100, but in general, this should work for all memory card video formats.

No camera utility/conversion should be needed or is recommended, use raw data from card.

Thanks
__________________
Jeff Pulera
Safe Harbor Computers
Jeff Pulera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 05:01 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 200
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Try this link:

Data Import Utility Ver.2 - Download (English) | PIXELA CORPORATION
Troy Moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 11:52 PM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Posts: 200
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Data Import Utility Ver.1 - Download (English) | PIXELA CORPORATION
Troy Moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2015, 12:38 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Newberg, Oregon
Posts: 440
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Even though that link says Version 1, you still can't download version one. You absolutely have to have the CD that came with your camera.

There is a program called MTS joiner that can be used to merge AVCHD files, but the Data Import Utility is still the best way. You might try contacting another C100 owner to see if they will loan you the disc.
Jeremiah Rickert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2015, 08:46 AM   #15
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,706
Re: C100 Missing Frames Between Split Files

Under OSX you can use EditReady to do that as well.

Of course, the bigger question is, is the AVCHD directory format intact or did you just pull out the .MTS files from it? Because that's not a good idea.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network