Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 24th, 2015, 02:03 PM   #1
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

Is Canon planning to add a 422 50Mbps Codec on the C300 Mk2? This is still the standard for docs and mags on major networks and I like the option of having a lightweight HD 422 codec.

Cheers.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2015, 02:55 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,706
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

I think this would be an excellent idea as well.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2015, 04:09 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 88
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

If I'm reading this chart correctly, there is 50Mbps HD and 2K only.
Paul Chiappini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2015, 04:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 88
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

Chart attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?-canon422.jpg  
Paul Chiappini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2015, 08:15 PM   #5
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

Hummm.... you must be right. I thought the 50Mbps was 4:2:0 only but if I read the chart correctly (dark vs light), looks like 50mbps is 422. It is a bit confusing though.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 24th, 2015, 09:03 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Idaho
Posts: 88
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

Yes, it is confusing. It's 4:2:0 to SD card only (what Canon is calling proxy). 4:2:2 is to CFast 2.0 card.
Paul Chiappini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 11:39 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: new york, Israel
Posts: 124
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

You could record externally on 4:2:2
Arthur Abramov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26th, 2015, 02:57 PM   #8
Telecam Films
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 723
Re: Is there any plan to add a 422 50Mbps Codec?

Last thing I need is one more gimmick attached to the camera. I like to be self contained.
__________________
Thierry Humeau, DoP
TÚlÚcam Films
www.telecamfilms.com
Thierry Humeau is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network