iMac Pro editing machine for C200 - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems
For all Canon Cinema EOS models: C700 / C300 Mk. II / C200 / C100 Mk II and EF / PL lenses.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 15th, 2018, 08:23 AM   #16
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,782
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

The trashcan is a good deal if you get it used/refurbished, but keep in mind that the comparable iMac Pro (in cores) is 50% faster.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 09:35 AM   #17
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Very good point Gary. I'm thinking of buying a Canon C200, so I'll need all the power.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 12:17 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 180
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

I'm sure even an 8-core iMac Pro would be ample horsepower for Cinema RAW Lite. I have a 10-Core myself. One area where I put more cash in was in storage. Cinema RAW Lite files are huge, so you'll want to ensure you have both space and speed.

I'm using LaCie RAIDs paired up with my iMac Pro. A 6-bay RAID 10 (approx 600 MBps reads/writes) and a 2-bay RAID 0 scratch disk (approx 400 MBps reads/writes). Finally, a third RAID 1 for backups. The internal SSD is left for applications.
Ricky Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2018, 07:01 PM   #19
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Well here is the comparison. What I see glaring at me is the number of cores.

https://www.apple.com/mac/compare/re...oduct2=mac-pro
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2018, 01:03 PM   #20
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

And this is what I'm leaning towards.

3.2GHz 8-core Intel Xeon W processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.2GHz
64GB 2666MHz DDR4 ECC memory
1TB SSD
Radeon Pro Vega 64 with 16GB of HBM2 memory
Magic Mouse 2 - Space Gray
Magic Keyboard with Numeric Keypad - US English - Space Gray
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 09:00 AM   #21
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,782
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

That is a good compromise between the maximum specs you can get and the price you pay.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 09:16 AM   #22
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Thank you Gary
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 01:22 PM   #23
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 180
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Do check if the software you'll use will benefit from the Vega 64. If not, you may want to consider sticking with the Vega56 and update to the 10-core version. That is what I did for the software I use (Xcode, Photoshop, Illustrator, Lightroom, Final Cut Pro X and various 3D packages to include Cinema 4D). While some do tap into the GPU, many of the processes I run are CPU-bound.
Ricky Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 03:39 PM   #24
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

That's a good point. I've already toyed around with FCPX but am thinking Adobe Premier if FCPX doesn't do it for me. I'm a long time Vegas editor, but I'm looking to move on.

I'll be sure to check on FCPX and Premier and see how they handle processing. Thanks, Ricky.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2018, 05:05 PM   #25
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,782
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Personally, I would buy a 10-core, but you have to decide if the potential speed is worth it. Primarily use Adobe with some FCPX thrown in for certain clients.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2018, 10:31 AM   #26
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Good point Gary. I called Adobe upper support and they could relay numbers for the upgrades, but they don't have an official announcement to say, put more money in this or that. According to Adobe, Premier uses either/or video or cpu processing and can be switched on and off depending. So that's at least good to know.

I did a test on my current editor, with well below video specs for 4k, and Adobe premier handled the video play back so much better than Sony Vegas. Which is what started me on this new purchase journey. :}
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2018, 01:47 PM   #27
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 3,030
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

Update:

So after researching the iMac Pro to death, thinking I knew pretty much the ins and outs of what I was looking for, I went to my local Apple store to discuss options. I asked the sales guy if I buy a base model, can I get upgrades later. The blue guy went to the back to ask the head Apple technician. He came back with a definitive, no, no, nothing is upgradable on the iMac Pro after purchase. So I left completely confused.

I called Apple and they told me the only thing that is upgradable after purchase is the Ram. Which is different than the Apple store guy.

I called another Apple store near Washington D.C. and they said their Apple guy could upgrade the hard drives, Ram and Core.

Needless to say, I'm perplexed atm. I chatted with BH and they told me I should pay attention to the Vram, which is good advice.
__________________
What happens if I push the 'Red' button?
Steven Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2018, 04:59 PM   #28
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 1,782
Re: iMac Pro editing machine for C200

You should buy the highest end machine you can absolutely afford, and figure that it won't be easily upgradeable in the future. That's what I plan to do.
Gary Huff is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon Cinema EOS Camera Systems

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 


Banner ads help sustain this site. DV Info Net is sponsored in part by:


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network