Viewfinder at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 1st, 2009, 03:20 PM   #1
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Viewfinder

Does anybody know if the viewfinder works when shooting HD, or do you only get an image on the LCD while shooting?
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2009, 03:38 PM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Because of the way the video recording works, there won't be an image through the viewfinder. It'll be LCD display only. The key to video mode on these cameras is Live View mode, which locks the shutter in the open (up) position, blocking light from reaching the viewfinder for as long as Live View is activated -- and movie recording is available only in Live View mode.

Short answer, 'cause it's an SLR.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2009, 05:15 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Tartu, Estonia
Posts: 579
The viewfinder is still optical as per specs so I assume that you must use the LCD in movie mode.
From DPreview - they have stated that it is the same prism/lens assembly from 1D series and seeing the diagam/illustration it still is optical because none, I mean none of the electronic viewfinders can compete with a bright optical one. Specially so when you consider the 30fps refresh rate.

T
Toenis Liivamaegi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1st, 2009, 09:39 PM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Which means that Zacuto hood/magnifier thing for 400 bucks would probably be necessary for most people. It looks pretty decent.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2009, 02:52 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Hurd View Post
Because of the way the video recording works, there won't be an image through the viewfinder. It'll be LCD display only. The key to video mode on these cameras is Live View mode, which locks the shutter in the open (up) position, blocking light from reaching the viewfinder for as long as Live View is activated -- and movie recording is available only in Live View mode.

Short answer, 'cause it's an SLR.
Are the stats for the LCD known? I know the Mark II's LCD isn't as sharp as most DPs want...

john
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2009, 05:00 PM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Specifications are identical between the 5D Mk. II and 7D LCD displays...

TFT, 3.0 in., appx. 920,000 dots (VGA), appx. 100% coverage, viewing angle: 170
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2009, 05:11 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
For those of us who don't own a Mark II, do you think the LCD screen is good enough, or should a potential 7D buyer also plan on buying a portable monitor for pulling focus?

john
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2009, 05:17 PM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I would say yes you'll probably need one. We have a number of monitor threads in the 5D Mk. II forum (maybe I should copy a few of them over to this board).
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2nd, 2009, 05:21 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
Thanks! Saving my pennies...

john
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 12:07 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,070
John:

Since you don't yet have a 7D, you should be aware that the camera's HDMI output will exhibit 1080 or 720 output when in standby, but when you begin to roll, the resolution out to the monitor will drop to SD when the camera is rolling. You cannot effectively pull focus with SD output when shooting HD, there is not enough resolution to tell if the picture is in sharp focus in HD.

So an external monitor, while handy for framing, is kind of somewhat useless for racking focus shots with the 5D MKII or 7D.

Dan
Dan Brockett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 12:11 PM   #11
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Indeed -- thanks for pointing that out, Dan!
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 12:21 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 212
But as long as we're not moving and can mark the two focus points we setup beforehand it should be good. I don't like pulling focus during a shot unless I have a destination already in mind.
__________________
Talenos Productions at http://www.talenos.com
Matt Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 12:34 PM   #13
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
That brings up another question--I wonder if you can see a distance readout in the LCD. By having the readout in the VF and screens of the 1/3' chip cameras, a guy can follow focus himself without an assistant in most cases.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 12:42 PM   #14
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor View Post
That brings up another question--I wonder if you can see a distance readout in the LCD.
With the 5D Mark II and some additional software, yes you can:
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 3rd, 2009, 01:07 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Pryor View Post
Which means that Zacuto hood/magnifier thing for 400 bucks would probably be necessary for most people. It looks pretty decent.
Another one to consider might be the one discussed here:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/photo-hd-...ef-s-lens.html

Or you can watch his video here:

Shallow DOF on T1i with Canon EF/EF-S lenses on Vimeo

It appears he is using this unit from CAVision:

Cavision | DSLR LCD Viewfinder Set for the Canon 5D | MHE52-RCM

Mr. Bruce Foreman is using it on the Canon T1i (500D) but B&H lists it as being for the 5DM2, so it will very likely work on the 7D as well. And it's a lot less expensive than $400 USD.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:14 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network