Using a monitor on the 7d at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 15th, 2009, 01:08 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,939
Using a monitor on the 7d

It's so much better than a 5dmkII. I hadn't tried it out until today but it doesn't drop down to 480p and change aspect ratio when you hit record. It's still not FULL HD out but it's leaps and bounds better than with the 5dmkII

Philip Bloom Blog Archive Using a monitor on the 7d is much better than with the 5dmkII
__________________
Philip Bloom
Cinematographer, Director, Filmmaker www.philipbloom.net
Phil Bloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 01:25 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 5
That's some great news Phil !!

The 7D seems to be looking better and better by the day.
__________________
http://www.bradmcgiveron.com
Brad McGiveron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 01:29 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
This is HUGE.

Not only is the 7D easier to focus than the 5D2 because of its smaller sensor, but the higher quality monitor will make live critical focus possible.

The only downside of the 7D that I can see is the lack of fast, wide primes.

Man, oh man, do I hope that the 5D2 firmware is upgraded to give 24p - and that either Canon or Magic Lantern give us higher resolution monitoring.

Hmmm. I could sell the 5D2, buy a 7D and spend the change on an HDMI monitor...
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 01:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 249
That is great news!!!!!

That is the main thing that bugged be about the 5D. Do you know the resolution it is sending out when rolling?

Thanks a bunch for all the reports on this camera Mr. Bloom, I am turning inside out waiting to get my hands on one of these things!
Burk Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 02:29 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon Fairhurst View Post
The only downside of the 7D that I can see is the lack of fast, wide primes.
Exactly, and until I had the 5D I never would have imagined how important that would be to me - but now the thing that keeps me from considering the 7D is the impact it would have on wide angles!

Quote:
Man, oh man, do I hope that the 5D2 firmware is upgraded to give 24p - and that either Canon or Magic Lantern give us higher resolution monitoring.
No real knowledge here, just speculation, but I'd guess the 7D is able to do the high-res monitoring while recording due to the second DIGIC, so I'm not too confident we'll ever see it on the 5D.
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 03:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 212
If it's not full HD and it's not 480p, what is it exactly outputting as then? 720p?
__________________
Talenos Productions at http://www.talenos.com
Matt Newcomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 03:59 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 390
Images: 1
It looks like it's inset, might be the base resolution of the preview lcd scaled to fit 1080.

Phil's latest video: TwitVid - @philipbloom quick demo of 7d video monitoring, filmed at WEVA
Jeff Kramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:04 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
It said 1080i 60hz on the top left corner of that monitor when it received the signal so it must be output full 1080i, it is at the end of the video.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:11 PM   #9
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 390
Images: 1
The mode changed when he switched to playback, so we know that playback is full 1080, but it didn't show what the mode was before. I wouldn't be surprised if it was also 1080, but we'll have to wait for someone with a camera to confirm.
Jeff Kramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:27 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
yeah you are right, can't tell much but as far as I can see on the web, the recording picture looks identical to the playback picture so maybe it really does output full hd during recording.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:50 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
My guestimate:

If it is outputting full HD, the height would be 4;3 with 1080 height, and the width of the image, since it is only a 4:3 screen would be 1440 ?

That would make the image in the 16 x9 view area, in the monitor about 810 high, or 810 x 1440. Anybody ??
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15th, 2009, 04:58 PM   #12
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Barcellos View Post
That would make the image in the 16 x9 view area, in the monitor about 810 high, or 810 x 1440. Anybody ??
My original computation from another thread (also a guess!):
Quote:
However... while the output signal is 1080, the image region is 3:2 in the best case (no Canon info displayed, after calling lv_output_device( "1080full" )). This means there are side-pillars on both sides of the 16:9 1080i signal, and then soft-mattes to show what portion of the 3:2 is the 16:9 recorded image.

So the effective resolution is even less than the 1080i signal might suggest. I haven't measured it exactly, but my estimate is that we lose about 150 pixels per side-pillar, leaving us with a 1620x911 useful image on the HDMI. I'm still investigating to see if it is possible to get different ratios and to fill the entire screen.
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 07:41 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Phil when you plug in the monitor do you lose the ability to monitor on the LCD? If not do you know if you get the option to monitor via both outputs at once?
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 10:03 PM   #14
Wizard Status
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phil Bloom View Post
It's so much better than a 5dmkII. I hadn't tried it out until today but it doesn't drop down to 480p and change aspect ratio when you hit record. It's still not FULL HD out but it's leaps and bounds better than with the 5dmkII
I've just figured out how to make the 5D continue to output 1080i while recording. Here is a short demo video: Magic Lantern - 1080i while recording on Vimeo
Tramm Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16th, 2009, 10:14 PM   #15
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 390
Images: 1
Sweet! Nice job, Tramm!
Jeff Kramer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network