7d here. questions. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 9th, 2009, 08:16 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
7d here. questions.

I got mine yesterday and spent a couple of hours fooling around with it.
Am I missing something or is there no 60i option for 1920 x 1280? From what I see, there's no way to switch frame rate by itself. So the four choixes are:
1920 x 1280 30
1920 x 1080 24
1280 x 720 60
640 x 480 60
Is this correct?

I shot some real nice photos right out of the box ( the high iso/ low noise ability BLOWS away my Nikon D200). The most confusing thing on the photo side is that the exposure meter is the opposite of Nikon.( left is under and right is over exposed in the Nikon, and 7D is the other way around).

I tried the kit lens with video and it's pretty limited indoors in low light. A friend lent me his canon 85 1.8, and that looks great.

Right now I can't view the footage on my hd monitors or in my nle. I wish Canon had included an hdmi cable, but I'll have to go to Radio Shack this morning. we'll be getting Neoscene today if possible, so that I can see the footage in adobe cs3.

I'm wondering what kind of cable I'll need if I try using my jib.I use a varizoom Swit monitor, which has component in, not hdmi.I'd also need a long cable or extension.I should be ok with my Gateway 26", which has hdmi in (I think).

In addition to a cable and neoscene, the other two things that I'll try to buy today are:
1- A viewfinder, modt likely the one sold ny IDC, and
2- A Nikon to Canon lens adapter, seeing as I have a nice collection of fast Nikon glass.

I have a set of rails and follow focus with my Letus extreme, and I'll try adapting these to the 7d. I also have a dv tech mutli rig pro and I'll see if that will work. Also looking forward to trying it with mu indicam and dolly.
bruce Yarock
Yarock Video and Photo
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 09:07 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Is this correct?
Yes it is. There is no 60i option.

None of the D-SLR makers include an HDMI cable that I'm aware of.

In my opinion the best source for a Mini-HDMI to HDMI cable is Monoprice dot com
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 09:09 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce S. Yarock View Post
I got mine yesterday and spent a couple of hours fooling around with it.
Am I missing something or is there no 60i option for 1920 x 1280? From what I see, there's no way to switch frame rate by itself. So the four choixes are:
1920 x 1280 30
1920 x 1080 24
1280 x 720 60
640 x 480 60
Is this correct?
That's correct, no 60i. You can also have 50p and 25p if you switch the camera from NTSC to PAL.

Quote:
I shot some real nice photos right out of the box ( the high iso/ low noise ability BLOWS away my Nikon D200). The most confusing thing on the photo side is that the exposure meter is the opposite of Nikon.( left is under and right is over exposed in the Nikon, and 7D is the other way around).
You might want to check that again. Left/under, right/over is the same on just about every electronic slr/dslr I've ever tried, both Canon and Nikon.
Kin Lau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 09:12 AM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I don't know anybody who includes an HDMI cable. Even when you buy a 50" plasma TV--I had to buy a cable too.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 09:17 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Lau View Post
Left/under, right/over is the same on just about every electronic slr/dslr I've ever tried, both Canon and Nikon.
It's completely customizable via the Custom Functions menu. So it can go whichever way you want.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 09:56 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Thaks, Chris. I bit the bullett ($51.00) and went to radio shack. I'll also look into the custom menu to switch the exposure meter so it's the same as the Nikon that I'm used to.

Kin-
Sorry, but the Nikons are the opposite (unless they also can be swutched in a custom menu). Exposure meter to the right on my D80 and D 200 is under (minus).On the 7D, under is to the left.
finally got to view some footage on a hd monitor.:))
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 11:10 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Glasgow/Scotland
Posts: 626
Hi Bruce,

Videoguys have Neoscene for $89 for new customers (you get a welcome $10 discount)
Alastair Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 12:25 PM   #8
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
That's odd. My old Nikons (film) are over to the right, under to the left. Just like Canons. Wonder why they'd change that.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 12:34 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
Hey Bruce,

It does use the LP-E6 battery right? The same one as the 5d mkii?
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 12:47 PM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Yes it's the exact same batt. as the 5D Mk. II
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 12:56 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
Thanks for the quick response Chris! One more thing...will the same grip(BG-E6) I use for my 5dmkii work?
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 12:59 PM   #12
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Nope, sorry -- you'll need the new BG-E7.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 01:12 PM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Another thing i forgot to ask-
When I'm setting up a shot and viewing through the monitor,and you're not yet recording, the camera shuts down after a few minutes. Is this a default power save function that can be dissabled?
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 01:15 PM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Bill,
My uber techy buddy just told me that you can switch the meter direction on the Nikon, as well as the canon. But as a creature of habit, I'll switch the canon to match the Nikon.
Bruce yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2009, 01:20 PM   #15
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce S. Yarock View Post
Is this a default power save function that can be dissabled?
Up to 30 minutes. See page 44 of the manual.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:39 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network