Canon H1, A1 with 7D? at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 31st, 2009, 04:03 AM   #1
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,818
Canon H1, A1 with 7D?

Now that I've done some experimenting and testing with the 7d, I want to try to get a closer "look" match when intercutting camera footage. I did a narratiive shoot last sunday, and had the main camera (a1) with the letus extreme(Outside pool scene, beautifull light, beautifull woman, and blues sky....the letus is hard to beat.) I set the 7d up along side and double shot several scenes. While the 7d looked really nice, it will take some work to make them match. I hadn't thought of this before i bought the camera, but now I realize i could use it for a 2 camera shoot along with the letus.

Earler this morning, I downloaded the Marvel 'flat' prest for the 7d, but haven't tried it yet. My favotite H1 and A1 prests aren't flat either, so i'll probably have to go back and take another look at them also. I might post the settings for the h1 prest I use most, and see if anyone can suggest anything.

I'd like to hear anyone's experience with a simliar set up.
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 02:32 PM   #2
New Boot
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 21
Me too!

I recently bought a 7D to use for shooting weddings. I was planning on purchasing a Canon A1s to use together for the two camera work at the ceremony. Any tips on how to help these cameras work well together?
Bruce, do you have this video up to view anywhere? Also, what is the "Marvel 'flat' prest"? Thanks!
Michael Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31st, 2009, 06:42 PM   #3
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,818
I've shot a lot of weddings and there's no way in the world I'd use it (7d) as a main camera. Too many variables, and only runs for 12 minutes. I would definately use it a specialty cam for more cinematic and beauty shots, and I'm sure it will cut well together.
I primarily used my H1 and A1 together, and occasionally the Letus on one of them. The 7D should be fun for weddings because it's light and shoots in much lower light than the letus.

Sorry I don't have anything up yet. We edit in adobe CS3, and the clips have to be transcoded in neoscene before we can bring them into the nle. My girlfriend does all the editing and she's backed up a couple of projects. We haven't had the time to fool around with the 7d stuff I've shot yet, but hopefully soon. Most is test footage anyways.
here's the link to some of the presets.

Good luck
Bruce yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 1st, 2009, 02:18 AM   #4
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
5d & xh-a1

Slightly off topic since we have 5D's not 7D's. We have intercut 5D footage with XH-A1, for an example see this video:

The only problem is the "flutter" you can see from the 30p to 24p conversion.

The primary cam was the XH, with the 5D for details, beauty shots as you mention Bruce. It's a great approach, and with 24p on the 7D, it will work beautifully. Others have said the footage looks too dissimilar, but i haven't noticed that. The XH produces a beautiful image, just make sure your colour profiles match.

We now use the 5D exclusively for weddings. We don't find the 12 minute clip limit to be a problem at all. If you're recording sound continuously and shooting on two or three cams, the only issue is syncing. Pluraleyes takes care of that. And aside from the ceremony and speeches, most shots are 20 seconds at most.
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3rd, 2009, 09:49 PM   #5
Major Player
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 204
What an awesome video! I had the same question with incorporating my XHA1 with the 7D. I didn't really even notice ANY weird transitions.
Lloyd Ubshura is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5th, 2009, 08:33 AM   #6
Major Player
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Wheeling, IL
Posts: 270
I will be using my 7D with A1s for the first time in the wedding tomorrow.
I am worrying about color so much because I can get them very close at post.
Workflow is more that I am worried about, dealing with .mov file converting, etc.
As for the image, I would use some preset for the A1s, though.
I shot a short Save the Date with 7D (default color preset) with A1s (no preset) looked very different.
I think there was a thread talking about flattening the 7D's color which could help.

J.J. Kim is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:09 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network