HELP! PLEASE! Movies are skipping frames! - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 17th, 2009, 11:37 AM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
My Macbook Pro plats files fine in h.264 and I can edit with ProRes all without skipping.

Which graphics card do you have?
What is your hard drive speed?

If you have the Early 2008 17" (no black glass), then your processor should be at least 2.5GHz and your graphics card should be NVIDIA GeForce 8600M GT with 512MB.

It is more than likely you opted for the larger capacity hard drive at 5400rpm and not the 200GB at 7200rpm. Check this by getting the model number of your internal drive from Disc Utility and copy/paste that into Google to search for specs. If you do have a slow drive, you can pick up another drive at 7200rpm and install it yourself.

These were your HD options:
250GB 5400-rpm Serial ATA hard drive (hard to do HD)
200GB 7200-rpm drive3 (fastest for video)
300GB 4200-rpm (slowest)
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2009, 10:27 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CAMPO GRANDE, BRASIL
Posts: 47
my god!

This is my hd: seagate ST9160823AS serial ata 2, 160GB, 7200rpm, graphic card the same as yours, but with 256mb. I think I cannot change it without changing the whole motherboard, right?

Last edited by Mauricio Copetti; November 18th, 2009 at 06:48 AM. Reason: misunderstanding
Mauricio Copetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 17th, 2009, 11:06 PM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
So... your files are playing without skipping now? Problem solved?
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 02:25 AM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
My advice is try playing the files from an external firewire drive.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 06:53 AM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CAMPO GRANDE, BRASIL
Posts: 47
David, I wrote this (I'm just getting used to write fro this forum)

This is my hd: seagate ST9160823AS serial ata 2, 160GB, 7200rpm, graphic card the same as yours, but with 256mb. I think I cannot change it without changing the whole motherboard, right?

I tried to play it from an external USB 7200rpm hard drive but didn't work.

thanks
Mauricio Copetti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 08:32 AM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: arlington, texas
Posts: 420
If you are still having playback issues on your computer, try using VLC player. Quicktime will not play back the clips smoothly on my computer but VLC player will.
Cody Dulock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 18th, 2009, 10:18 AM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
It looks like it comes down to your graphics card. You can upgrade the card yourself.

For reference, my Macbook pro has the 512MB graphics card and can play everything fine. My Quad-core Mac tower (G5) has a 256 and not everything is as smooth.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network