7D footage loads at 66.67 in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 21st, 2010, 03:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF & LA
Posts: 195
7D footage loads at 66.67 in FCP

Hmmm,

So trying to figure out why my footage is all loading at 66.67.
What calibration in my project settings is off ? (I figure it has to be something like that).

My workflow so far is from card to reader to MPEG into FCP

Thanks
Tim Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 04:36 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
66.67 what?
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 04:49 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF & LA
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Liam Hall View Post
66.67 what?
Fair question :)

That number represents the size of my video (scale).

In the motion tab it's stating my video is 66.67 - what it's loading in at
Tim Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 04:51 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF & LA
Posts: 195
double posted ....
Tim Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 05:04 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
Check in the browser, it will tell you what your frame settings are for both your source and your timeline.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 05:17 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF & LA
Posts: 195
Ahhhh....I see.

I was loading it into my project under my old PD170 settings (gasp!) so it was converting it all to SD. 70% of my project is shot at 1920x1080, the rest at 1280 60p.

That is loading at 150% scale. Do I need to run that through cine-tools to make it 24p?
Tim Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 05:44 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
Yes to cinema tools.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 07:36 PM   #8
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
Dump the files you'e converted, go back to the original. I'd convert to ProRes. If they're already 24p, no need to convert to 24p.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2010, 07:54 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: SF & LA
Posts: 195
Yea, you're right. I tried loading the 60p into the 24p timeline and it looked really weird. Had to go back to the source 422 files (i transferred/separated them all correctly at that stage, thankfully) but why is it when you have to go back and redue all the clips time moves SO SLOWLY!

Good lesson learned on this project --- can't wait to share it with you guys.
Tim Kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2010, 04:01 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
If you shot 60p and have converted to for 24p playback then the clips will be slow-motion in a 24p timeline.

If you want normal speed playback with 60p material you need a 60p timeline and no need to convert.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:18 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network