output resolution via HDMI? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:04 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
output resolution via HDMI?

So far I am getting 480P with the image really small in the center with info all around in when in Live record mode.

I am getting 1080 when playing back clips in play mode. Is this normal. Prior to purchase I could have sworn that it was 1080 out during live mode, but with information overlays on top.

Is this correct or can I get a better live output?
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:11 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Hudzik View Post
So far I am getting 480P with the image really small in the center with info all around in when in Live record mode.

I am getting 1080 when playing back clips in play mode. Is this normal. Prior to purchase I could have sworn that it was 1080 out during live mode, but with information overlays on top.

Is this correct or can I get a better live output?
That is normal operation on the 5D and 7D.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:16 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
Bummer. I thought the 7D was supposed to change in this respect. Oh well. It's still better than nothing!
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:33 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 232
If you search in this forum on this issue you'll find MANY instances where the correct info is given. The 7D does NOT get restricted to 480p when recording. If you are seeing a small view with info all around, hit the "info" button to toggle through until you get a larger display with no information surrounding it. I personally have the camera and just tested it to be sure before typing.
Craig Coston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 03:51 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Craig Coston View Post
If you search in this forum on this issue you'll find MANY instances where the correct info is given. The 7D does NOT get restricted to 480p when recording. If you are seeing a small view with info all around, hit the "info" button to toggle through until you get a larger display with no information surrounding it. I personally have the camera and just tested it to be sure before typing.
Whoa... what? (not doubting this, just never heard this before)
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 04:02 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Canton, Ohio
Posts: 1,770
I just tried it and it works. This will help focusing tremendously. What a great forum! As you can tell tell by all of my recent posts I just got the 7D and I am figuring out some of its quirks.
Marty Hudzik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 04:14 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Crap!

Thanks for the info Craig. That adds significantly to my interest in the 7D. I mistakenly thought it had the same issue as the 5D in this regard and it was being worked on with the Magic Lantern software.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 04:18 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 249
The stock 5D (not sure about the firmware thing) outputs a standard def image to a monitor via HDMI when recording. The 7D outputs everything in HD (1080i I believe) via HDMI even when recording.

I just shot with a 5D Saturday and a 7D (mine) Sunday and used a Small HD DP1 monitor on both shoots. In my case when shooting with the 5D, when you hit the record button everything turns into a stretched 480p image on my 16x9 DP1 monitor. It kinda sucks, follow focus would be really hard visually. BEFORE recording everything is HD, you can cycle through different display options for data, etc with the info button and one of them fills the frame (it is cropped a bit) on your external monitor - it's just when you hit the record button that everything goes black for a second and then pops up as stretched 480p.

On the 7D, everything just stays the same when you hit the record button. If you selected "full screen view" via the info button - it just stays that way, the focus box thing goes away and a little red dot shows up in the upper right corner. Visual follow focus is very easy with an external monitor.

This is one of the reasons I got the 7D and not the 5D. Hope this info helps.
Burk Webb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 04:59 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
And what about the 1D Mark IV?
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 08:57 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Rockledge, Florida
Posts: 351
Yeah, the 7D is 1080i through HDMI. I believe (someone correct if I'm wrong) Hudson hacked the 5Dll to do the same. I'm not sure however.
Ian G. Thompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 10:10 PM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian G. Thompson View Post
Yeah, the 7D is 1080i through HDMI. I believe (someone correct if I'm wrong) Hudson hacked the 5Dll to do the same. I'm not sure however.
Anyone know what resolution the 7D gets through USB?
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2010, 11:47 PM   #12
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 6,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Christopher Drews View Post
And what about the 1D Mark IV?
-C
The 1DMKIV performs the same as the 7D in the aspects described above.
__________________
Charles Papert
www.charlespapert.com
Charles Papert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2010, 12:06 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,427
Just for what it's worth I learned the hard way that if your hdmi cable comes unplugged while you're recording it stops the recording, even if it's just for like a millisecond. It can be a bit of a bummer.
__________________
I have a dream that one day canon will release a 35mm ef to xl adapter and I'll have iris control and a 35mm dof of all my ef lenses, and it will be awesome...
Nick Hiltgen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2010, 01:06 AM   #14
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Allen, Texas U.S.A
Posts: 1,117
Nick,

Its also the same with the USB composite out cable. I plug it in to turn off the LCD to save power and minimize heat during long exposures/record times but if you unplug it to check your video it will stop recording.
__________________
Ted Ramasola
http://ramasolaproductions.com
Ted Ramasola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2010, 02:09 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 249
Yes, the stop recording thing, I should have mentioned that! Also if your monitor shuts off because the battery died - the 7D stops recording. It seems like it stops recording if it senses the HDMI is not terminated. I even had this happen when I was switching back and forth between inputs on an LG HD monitor. Every time I switched away from the HDMI input the 7D would stop recording.

Would love to get a solution to this little issue.
Burk Webb is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:19 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network