Canon EOS E1 Video Plug-In for Final Cut Pro - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2010, 02:36 AM   #31
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
wouldn't it be nice if we could upgrade the 7D to the new MPEG2 4:2:2 codec...
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2010, 03:22 AM   #32
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
RAW would be even better:)
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2010, 06:15 AM   #33
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
I'd rather have a firmware update to remove the red record dot and have a portable ssd to record 4:2:2 into ProRes LT/HQ from the HDMI out while adding timecode and upscaling to 1080p. Pretty much what the Syndicate is doing without a computer. Sadly, this seems very feasible but I see Canon calling this a "pipe dream" even though we are just talking about the red dot removal from hdmi out.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 02:13 PM   #34
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Evansville, Indiana
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Spaulding View Post

Andrew, something to keep in mind though, unless your outputting your final project to film you don't need to use ProRes HQ, ProRes LT works great for HD and there is no perceptible difference. There are some exceptions to this for effects but as a general rule if your finishing in HD then ProRes LT is as high up the food chain you need to go.
Chuck - Thanks to you and David for the responses, and for highlighting the major differences between the HQ and LT flavors. I tend to do a lot of compositing in Motion, FCP and some AE. Storage is not a huge issue so I have been playing it safe.

I'm looking forward to comparing MPEG Streamclip to Compressor conversions.

Regarding the 4:2:2 color space and pulling clean keys - so far I have used with great success a Blackmagic Intensity Pro HDMI card and a Sony Z1's HDMI out....but that's off topic, sorry.
Andrew Holmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 08:30 PM   #35
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane, California
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chapman View Post
Right now, I batch convert everything before I pick through my footage. Trimming the fat before the ProRes conversion will save a lot of space.

I've done some tests recently and MPEG Streamclip does a much better/faster job at transcoding than compressor.
David, I recently my first large project mixing EX and 7D. I quickly found that I had to transcode the 7D clips to make any headway with the editing. First I tried creating a droplet for Compressor, but either I'm doing something wrong or this method is flakey. If I dropped more than a few clips, it took forever for the droplet to acknowledge I'd done anything and was just unuseably unresponsive in picking the cluster, etc.

I turned to the trusty MPEG streamclip for the conversion to standard Prores 422, which works well for batch conversion.

What I've heard of as a good workflow is to have an "folder action" to automatically batch convert clips. I'd like this for all my 7D clips, to run every night, to know that in the morning I'll have fresh, usable Prores clips to use in my edit. Do you or others have a good workflow for the Mac for this?

Thanks for a great discussion and if I've highjacked this thread, I apologize.
Keith Moreau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 09:32 PM   #36
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Spaulding View Post
wouldn't it be nice if we could upgrade the 7D to the new MPEG2 4:2:2 codec...
When Canon presented the new codec at the recent supermeet someone asked specifically about upgrading any of the current DSLRs to it and the response was that the codec in the cameras is hardware based and not something that can be updated via firmware...

Also, during the presentation of the log/capture utility it had several options for transcoding the footage on transfer - including ProRes.
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2010, 11:44 AM   #37
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 19
Canon's posted more detailed information about the plugin:
Canon Digital Learning Center - Introducing EOS Movie Plugin-E1 for Final Cut Pro
Richard Van Le is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2010, 05:30 PM   #38
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
Looks good. I like the disc image function too. Available "Early March". Cool:)
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2010, 04:38 PM   #39
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Milan/Italy
Posts: 63
"Early march" is now. Anybody got news?
__________________
vimeo.com/alvisetedesco
web.mac.com/alvise.tedesco/DP/home
Alvise Tedesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 02:04 PM   #40
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
<taps foot...>
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 03:23 PM   #41
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
I heard the 15th mentioned somewhere. Can't remember where...
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12th, 2010, 04:31 PM   #42
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Hahaha. I love the foot tapping. My birthday is the 20th, Canon. Please before then? Also, I would like a 70-200mm 2.8L coffee mug.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 10:52 AM   #43
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,242
Hoping for the best regarding the plugin tomorrow. Maybe even a Final Cut Pro update to 7.1 64-bit support.


I can wish, can't I?
__________________
Nate Haustein PXW-FS5 / iMac i7 / FCPX
www.flightcreativemedia.com
Nate Haustein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 11:01 AM   #44
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Today is the last day of what can be technically called "early March". So that danged plugin better be here by tomorrow! :)
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 10:41 AM   #45
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Well, it's not early March anymore. I was thinking they were waiting on the 5DM2 firmware, but that's out now too.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network