Editing 60 FPS clips without FCP? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2010, 01:49 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2
Editing 60 FPS clips without FCP?

I know this has been asked before, but I'm curious to know if anyone has any new solutions. I'm on a Mac, working with FCE. I'm looking to get smooth slow mo clips by shooting my 7D in 60FPS mode. When I import into FCE, it cuts the number of frames, then doubles some up with the slow motion options there.

Is there an easy program that will convert full-speed clips to 24 fps (slow) using all 60 frames. I've tried MPEG Streamclip, which works, but takes forever.

Any solutions out there that don't involve FCP and Cinema Tools?
Thanks :)
Stephen
Stephen Wright is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 02:29 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
This site is blocked at work here (they think it's porn I guess), but you can try the link.

QuickTime Tools

This should be a developer tool to change the header info of the quicktime clip to play at a different frame rate—essentially what I use Cinema Tools for.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 03:46 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 36
Do you have After Effects? If so, then this is an fix. Import your footage into a project. Right click on your source footage, select interpret footage > main. Under the frame rate heading, click "Conform footage to frame rate", type in 23.976. Click OK. Drop your source footage into a new composition and then render using the codec of your choice.

Yes, a little more convoluted than the Cinema Tool method, but it works!
Chad Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2010, 04:11 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada
Posts: 369
In FCP I usually just double click the file into the viewer (without putting it in the timeline) and change the speed (within the viewer) to 50% (or whatever I want) and then export it as a new clip, then reimport int and it's slowed down in the timeline nice a smooth.
David Schuurman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2010, 02:37 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
I'm still working on some ideas...
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com

Last edited by David Chapman; February 20th, 2010 at 03:57 PM.
David Chapman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:37 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network