HD-Out over HDMI while recording - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2010, 07:47 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kaku Ito
I connected the TVLogic XVM-245W via HIDMI and it did output video while recording.
That's a relief!
Fei Meng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2010, 11:08 PM   #17
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
woooooohooooooooooo! Now I am regretting my choice to not have the camera shipped overnight! ARRRRRRRRRGH! At least it'll be here Monday!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2010, 11:13 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 99
Robert Turchick, let me know how it looks on your DP1 monitor , if you would, you get your T2i a day before me! Drats.............
__________________
Canon XHA1, Canon T2i, FinalCut 3 , MacBook Pro 2.4Gz, FireStore FSC-60, DP1X Monitor
Rob Cook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2010, 11:52 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
will do! now I just have to save up some money for a follow focus!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 04:42 AM   #20
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
Today, I bought a hoodman magnifier and worked our pretty nice. I have to think of better way to mount it though.
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 11:02 AM   #21
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Tomorrow Hoodman is said to be releasing a new eyecup and magnifier for the HoodLoupe. I plan to buy it immediately. The stock HoodLoupe lets in stray light. Also, the view gets soft if your eye gets off center. The new eyecup and magnifier should make the Hoodloupe more competitive with the Z-Finder.

For mounting, RedRock Micro sells a holder for $55 that is solid:
microFinder loupe accessory kit

The only downside is that it's not quick and easy to remove it. This isn't a problem if you use a field monitor, but is a problem if you want to go from a shoulder configuration to using the LCD on some other setup. Or if you want to use the optical viewfinder like a normal camera. But if you own a field monitor, this mount is the way to go.

I purchased an LCD screen/shade from Hong Kong. (I'm not sure if this was the seller.)
LCD Pop-Up Screen Hood Shade Cover for CANON 5D Mark II - eBay (item 280461556924 end time Mar-07-10 22:59:52 PST)

I applied velcro to mount it, but it's not very rugged. The velcro adhesive has started to come loose.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 11:38 AM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 75
Jon, where did you hear about the new eyecup? I have the Hoodman with the HoodEye 3.0 and it works pretty well. For magnification I use a pair of +3.00 reading glasses.

I tried the velcro approach to attach the loupe to the LCD frame like you did but found that Loctite UltraGel super glue works much more securely.

It appears that the T2i uses the same viewfinder as the T1i, so I'm hoping I can just clip-on the Hoodman/LCD frame to my T2i when it arrives tomorrow.
Stan Chase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 12:27 PM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Here's the info...

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/canon-eo...y-400-a-2.html
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 07:02 PM   #24
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Shibuya, Tokyo
Posts: 1,381
Jon, thanks for the information!
Kaku Ito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2010, 11:05 PM   #25
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Pacifica, CA
Posts: 348
Getting back to the HDMI output, is this usable 1080 footage? I'm gathering that it is 1080-i and not 1080-p? Is there some sort of cropping going on? This camera is tempting, especially given the price point, but I shoot a lot of theater currently and the shooting time limits make it a bit iffy for me. Capturing to an external drive would be nice, though from what I understand the camera can/will overheat after a time anyway, true?
Eric Lagerlof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 09:18 AM   #26
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 37
I found a 23" Philips monitor, 1920x1080p, hdmi, the whole nine, for around $230 new. Wouldn't this make a good accessory for your dSLR since those small LCDs are almost 5 times more expensive?

Surely they wouldn't be as practical as those small ones so they're not for all situations, but if you film something indoors, wouldn't this be a much better solution?
Alex Sava is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 09:37 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Köln, NRW, Germany
Posts: 70
I think this or another cheap Full HD computer monitor for indoor and narrative film works great (for focus and framing) and can used as second monitor for postpro.

Have think in the same direction but for me a dp1 will be a must. ;)


Daniel
Daniel von Euw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 09:43 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Köln, NRW, Germany
Posts: 70

According the latest update in the text from DSLRinformer the T2i will output 480p during recording.

Go to vimeo to read that - the info is not in the clip.


Hope that is not true.


Daniel
Daniel von Euw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 05:55 PM   #29
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
I can confirm that. Just hooked up my SmallHD which tells you what you're viewing. in LiveView mode, it's 1080i and once record is hit, the monitor says 480p. I still found it easier to focus on the SmallHD than the LCD on camera. bit of a disappointment but still very useable.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1st, 2010, 06:32 PM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Sava View Post
I found a 23" Philips monitor, 1920x1080p, hdmi, the whole nine, for around $230 new. Wouldn't this make a good accessory for your dSLR since those small LCDs are almost 5 times more expensive?
You can get a brand new Acer 23" 1080p monitor for $180 shipped from SuperBiiz.com. There's a 21.5" version (also 1080p) that's just $170 shipped. Both have HDMI inputs.
__________________
Current cameras: Canon EOS Digital Rebel T2i (coming soon) | Panasonic LUMIX DMC-GH1 | Sony HDR-SR11 (infrared modded)
Fei Meng is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network