How to access Histogram for video shooting at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 6th, 2010, 01:45 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
How to access Histogram for video shooting

I know that you have access to the 550ds histogram while shooting photos and reviewing video footage.

but I was wondering if it's possible to bring up the histogram while filming video or setting your exposure in standby.

The reason for this is that I want to sett he exposure for a white limbo background shoot, and want the exposure set to be around 100 ire. My background is evenly lit, but I want to make sure that my exposure is set properly so I blow out the background properly.

Normally for video cameras, I set my exposure first so my background is full zebras, the place my talent in the shot and move my key source light on my subject to expose (usually slightly under expose) properly.

Any idea on how to do this?
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2010, 03:30 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Maassluis, The Netherlands
Posts: 294
I've never filmed with a DSLR, but I guess you know your aperture, ISO and exposure. (?) In that case you can measure your light. (But maybe you only got the DSLR to film and you never really photograph with a lightmeter... I that case I don't know).

On my 450D you can access the histogram when reviewing shots with the DISP button above the LCD (on the left side). If it's possible to see the histogram while shooting, it would be a logical choice to use the same button as when you review.
But if it's only possible to use the histogram while reviewing footage: shoot a few seconds and check the histogram.

I'm not sure this anwser is very helpfull.... good luck!
__________________
Brainstormnavigator searching for the hole in the sky.....
Audiovisual Designer (NL) - http://www.brokxmedia.nl
Walter Brokx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2010, 04:45 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
I believe the histogram is only available on review. In my experience all DSLRs over expose, in video mode, to a fair degree, it realy is a matter of getting to know the characteristics of any given lens that you may be using, and expose appropriately.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2010, 05:24 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Well can access the histogram while in photo mode while in Live View.
So I could set my exposure this way first, then transpose the settings to the video end.

I have used a light meter in the past, years ago, so I do know how to set ISO, and aperture.
What I don't know is the approximate value to use the light meter to make sure that my background is around 100 IRE for white limbo use.

This is why I was curious as to using the histogram and Live View while in video mode.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 05:38 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 99
What I found in my limited experience (I only received the camera over the weekend) using the kit lens without any ND filters to help to control the light, was that the exposure compensation bar at the bottom of the lcd screen was really useful. I would fix shutter speed at 1/50 (for PAL), set the aperture I wanted (say as wide as possible at f3.5) and then adjust the ISO. The exposure compensation bar seems to move. If itís to the left of centre the image was underexposed, to the right of centre overexposed. I therefore juggled the aperture and ISO so that the bar was a close to central (zero) as possible. I donít know whether this is how itís supposed to work but by doing this and examining the footage later, the exposure seemed good. The exposure compensation bar was therefore a pretty decent guide.
Mark Howells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 08:34 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
Mark I agree, but don;t know how accurate the built in light meter is.
This is where a Histogram or Zebras come in handy, as they let you accurately know your highest (100 IRE) accurate exposure for video. Now I can try some tests using the in camera meter and a light meter to get even blown out white limbo backgrounds.

Of course I am going to have to use a light meter to check the levels on my subject as well, and move my light source accordingly to get proper exposure once my initial white limbo exposure is set.

One of the best ways that I have found so far, is to set the white background and lighting while in photo mode. take those exposure levels and transpose them to the video side. But I have found that while in video mode, the camera slightly differs in the exposure, up a stop or so. Gotta run some more tests to iron this method out though.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2010, 08:43 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Posts: 38
Thanks Mark for the great tip!

At 1920x1080 24p I find 1/50 the most ideal numbers to prevent "scan lines", what are youre findings?
Julian Jansen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20th, 2010, 10:42 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 205
I think the 5D Mk II has this feature.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Liebergot View Post
I know that you have access to the 550ds histogram while shooting photos and reviewing video footage.

but I was wondering if it's possible to bring up the histogram while filming video or setting your exposure in standby.

The reason for this is that I want to sett he exposure for a white limbo background shoot, and want the exposure set to be around 100 ire. My background is evenly lit, but I want to make sure that my exposure is set properly so I blow out the background properly.

Normally for video cameras, I set my exposure first so my background is full zebras, the place my talent in the shot and move my key source light on my subject to expose (usually slightly under expose) properly.

Any idea on how to do this?
Sam Kanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21st, 2010, 04:39 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lipa City Batangas, Philippines
Posts: 1,110
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Liebergot View Post
I know that you have access to the 550ds histogram while shooting photos and reviewing video footage.

but I was wondering if it's possible to bring up the histogram while filming video or setting your exposure in standby.

The reason for this is that I want to sett he exposure for a white limbo background shoot, and want the exposure set to be around 100 ire. My background is evenly lit, but I want to make sure that my exposure is set properly so I blow out the background properly.

Normally for video cameras, I set my exposure first so my background is full zebras, the place my talent in the shot and move my key source light on my subject to expose (usually slightly under expose) properly.

Any idea on how to do this?
Hi Michael. I find it very easy to just take a still shot while in video mode, and check the histogram from that. If I need to adjust the exposure, I then take another still shot to check the histogram again. When it looks ok, I can start the video recording without having to adjust anything at all.

Of course this doesn't help if you are trying to adjust exposure during the course of the shot.

Richard
Richard Hunter is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network