Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the EOS M, 60D, 7D and all Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 7th, 2010, 04:03 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Cannot load picture style in video mode

I have been trying to use the Marvels Cine picture style with my 550D and it uploads fine into the camera using the EOS utility. However I can only select it in still mode. When in video mode the three user styles have different settings. It seems like the 550D has six picture styles. Three for stills and three for video.
So far so good - the problem though is that I cannot upload the Marvel style into the "video-style" memory slots. The upload button is grayed out when the camera is in video mode.

Am I doing something wrong or is the 550D different from the 7D in this sense?
__________________
Ola Christoffersson, Kamrat produktion, Stockholm - Sweden
www.kamrat.tv
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2010, 04:30 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 733
That is fine, just upload it via the still mode, and then go back to video mode and go to one of your user def. and then push display/enter/ and scroll to fine the Marvels preset.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 08:49 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
Thank you for your reply but that does not work for me. When I select a user defined picture style in video mode I don't get the same as in still mode. The Marvel preset is only available in still mode!

Are you sure this works with the 550D? Can you confirm that you have really done this or are you just assuming it works. Try setting up a user defined style on the same user preset that you have the Marvel preset stored on in video mode and I think you will find that you have one style in video mode and another in still-mode.

I hope I am wrong but I cannot figure out what I am doing differently from what you are describing.

/ola
__________________
Ola Christoffersson, Kamrat produktion, Stockholm - Sweden
www.kamrat.tv
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 09:30 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 733
If in still mode you upload it into user define 1 then back in video mode go to
menu/ picture style/enter/user def. 1/display/enter/and arrow up or down to find the marvel preset/menu.
BTW I've done it and it works, I don't assumed something and try to tell somebody how to do it.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 12:08 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 462
It works!

Sorry for questioning you but I needed your detailed instructions to make it work. I thought I'd be able to select it from the quick menue like in still mode.

Thanks!!!
__________________
Ola Christoffersson, Kamrat produktion, Stockholm - Sweden
www.kamrat.tv
Ola Christoffersson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2010, 06:29 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 82
I had the same problem and Khoi Pham was nice enough to spell it out for me.

So if anyone else has trouble loading custom picture styles here are his instructions:

If you loaded your preset in still mode already then you it is done, you just have to find it and just have to do this:
You have to remember when you were still mode if you loaded it in user define 1,2 or 3, let say you loaded in user define 3, then:
1. Turn the dial to video mode.
2. Push the menu button, scroll to picture style and push the enter button
3. Push the arrow up and down until you get to USER DEFINE 3
4. Push the DISP. button
5. Push up and down until the red square box is on Picture Style.
6. Push enter button.
7. Push up and down until you see your preset, and that is it.

Thanks Khoi.
John Mastrogiacomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 01:06 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Selby UK
Posts: 274
Thanks very much for that John and Khoi :)

That could have taken me ages to figure out.

The Marvels Cine picture style looks really nice.
__________________
Stuart Graham
www.magentapictures.com
Stuart Graham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3rd, 2010, 07:28 AM   #8
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,305
Images: 513
For those who might not be aware of the Marvels Cine picture style:

Canon 7D Picture Style with Cine-gamma (S) Curve – free download Marvelsfilm’s Blog
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 




Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:56 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2014 The Digital Video Information Network