T2I - Is Editing without recompression/Re-rendering Possible with t2i files in vegas? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2010, 05:15 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 71
T2I - Is Editing without recompression/Re-rendering Possible with t2i files in vegas?

Hello, I have a camera that outputs HD mpg files cbr at 25,000 (jvc hd7), which if I just import the files into vegas and do cuts and then render back to the cbr 25,000 hd mpg it does not need to be recompressed in sony vegas and the rendering time is very very short which is very very good for saving time.

I downloaded a test .mov file outputted from a t2i but I can't figure out a way to do cuts only and then re-render in vegas without re compression. I won't buy a t2i if I need to do re compression on basic cuts only as I believe re-compressing in HD takes way too long and it is not worth it for me for the time at this stage in computer speed, so I only want to deal with a camera that can record in a type of file that can be edited and rendered again without re compression for cuts only. (Of course I am not including fades and color correction, etc, just basic cuts).

If you know what settings to use in vegas that I can do cuts of a test t2i test .mov file and then render it back and have vegas give me the black screen saying "no re compression required" and then quickly finish I would appreciate knowing what settings I should use as I would like to get the t2i, but not if it is unable to do what I need.

Thank you.
Dylan
Dylan Tobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 12:56 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
I believe the Rebel uses a codec similar to the 5d and 7d. Native MOV don't work well with Vegas. As far as I know, everyone transcodes. Either to Cineform ($99) or Avid DnX (free) plus mpeg streamclip.

You may find yourself longing for the days of m2t timelines.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13th, 2010, 01:14 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
The Rebel uses exactly the same codec as the 7d and 5d mk2. Theres no problem with converting the files, you will have to look very, very closely for any great difference in picture quality, and it will make editing so much easier
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 11:09 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 71
Hello, thank you both for your responses, it is not a quality issue I am referring to, my issue is only related to the speed (time it takes me) to render to final files for blueray disc or HD files of similar quality to originals for future blueray burning.

Example: I just finished editing something I shot on my HD7 that had something like 20+ hours of footage and I took it down to 8 or so, and the only way I could get through doing that within a certain reasonable time frame was because the format of my hd7 does not need to be re-compressed when rendering out the edited clips for just cuts, it is actually way faster then real time when using this format for me in Vegas. Editing and re-compression Rendering to other formats would take days even on my quad core.

About cineform, I am thinking if I am dealing with like 20+ hours of footage it would just not edit out to the final files anywhere near as fast as the cbr (I think it is m2t) hd7 HD files that I want to match or get a similar time to edit and final render out with.

I guess I will have to research more on the speed difference with cineform and if there are any other dslrs that have a better format for very short speed editing/rendering. I don't really like the video quality of the panasonic or pentax dslrs so maybe I will have to wait for something coming out later if I can't find a very fast editing solution I can work with from the t2i.

Thanks.
Dylan Tobias is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 11:23 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dylan Tobias View Post
so I only want to deal with a camera that can record in a type of file that can be edited and rendered again without re compression for cuts only. (Of course I am not including fades and color correction, etc, just basic cuts).
Ok, buy Sony Vegas or Adobe Premiere.

Buy a camera that shoot DV, HDV, XDCam, or XDCamEX.

Done.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network