Does this work for the 550D/T2i? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2010, 05:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
Does this work for the 550D/T2i?

Canon DSLR Video Monitor for FREE Using your Laptop

Canon DSLR Video Monitor link!
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2010, 10:43 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 75
Yep, standard feature of Canon's EOS Utility software that ships with the camera.
__________________
[T2i/550D] [17-55 IS USM] [Zoom H2] [HoodLoupe/HoodMAG 3.0]
Stan Chase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 01:49 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
That is awesome! Except now I WANT to travel with my laptop to use as a monitor! Arrrrgh!
More stuff to haul around!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 12:44 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
The video shows use on a laptop, and he talks about his netbook, yet does not explain how netbooks (and laptops) can work with larger-than-actual desktop sizes. Not ideal, but there's plenty you can do with a 10" screen running virtual 1920x1080.
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 01:57 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
As I plan to use with my 17" MacBook Pro, it should show large enough to be useful. I will post back once I check it out!

It works GREAT! won't go full screen but as you resize the window, it grows. I'd say about 90% of my 17" was filled. And sharp enough to do follow focus work!
AND the viewfinder on camera stays on!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!

Last edited by Robert Turchick; March 14th, 2010 at 03:40 PM.
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 06:08 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
Wouldn't it be incredible if they released an iPad app that had the EOS software? Then I could justify getting one! :)
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 06:51 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
hmmmmm...let me talk to a developer friend who does apps!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 10:28 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Yeah, I wish the iPad would take an external video input signal, would be sweet to use as a monitor on shoots.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2010, 10:41 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Well, if it could run the software, just need a usb cable!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 06:57 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan McCullough View Post
Yeah, I wish the iPad would take an external video input signal, would be sweet to use as a monitor on shoots.
Hmm, the iPad works with Wi-Fi and the T2i accepts Eye-Fi cards....
__________________
[T2i/550D] [17-55 IS USM] [Zoom H2] [HoodLoupe/HoodMAG 3.0]
Stan Chase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 10:12 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
The iPad doesn't have a USB connection on it...to my knowledge...

JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 10:23 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 19
There will be a USB solution that plugs into the dock connector, Apple already showed it in the iPad's introduction, although it's meant for uploading photos from a camera. Don't know if that can be harnessed for this purpose, but that would be mighty fine!
Geoff Kaiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 15th, 2010, 10:39 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 253
Yeah, I assumed it would connect like iPods via USB.
__________________
Jon Bufkin
focalpointcinematic.com
Jonathan Bufkin is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network