H.264 to ProRes conversion time? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2010, 01:10 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1
H.264 to ProRes conversion time?

How long has it been taking you to convert 7D video from H.264 to ProRes?

Encoding TO H.264 has always choked my workstation, even at way less than 1080p resolution, so I'm picturing hours upon hours of conversion time per hour of video. What's your ratio?

My system is a Mac Pro Quad 1st generation w/ maxed out RAM.

Please of course include your system details, frame rate, and flavor of ProRes.

Couldn't find a thread with conversion time examples so if there is one, please do point my in the right direction.
Bart Henderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 02:10 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: san francisco, ca
Posts: 90
On our 2.4ghz mbp (4gb RAM), the conversion from h.264 to prores (Standard) takes about 5x footage time. So 10 minutes of footage takes about 50 minutes to convert. I think it's been faster after switching to ProRes LT and getting new MBPs but I haven't kept track.
Raymond Tsang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2010, 08:28 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Toronto
Posts: 532
So far on my quad 2.66 mac pro the H.264 to ProRes LT conversion is taking a bit less than realtime, but each clip isn't super long so it's hard to tell. The files end up being roughly 1.7x larger than the original clips that way.
Evan C. King is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 08:50 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
That's a good result, I'm seeing much slower speeds on my quad 2.66, closer to double the run time.

Transcoding – the truth! | Paul Joy
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 11:02 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 205
Paul: I think Evan's results of 1.7x refers to file size; not the time it's taking.

I did a simple test and it seemed to be about 3x (time) on my 2.53GHz MacBook Pro, though that may have been slowed by the drive I was using, and it was to ProRes 444

If we're going to compile results, other variables needed include; speed of the card reader (if using one) speed of the hard drive and compressor settings...

What we really need is some kind of hardware acceleration that will take H.264 and recompress it to ProRes. The Matrox Max compresses to H.264, but I don't think it helps taking H.264 to ProRes. The KiPro box will take an HDMI signal and compress it to ProRes, but it's expensive, and I think you can only use it to capture the HDMI signal to ProRes (you can't connect it to your computer and send it H.264 files.)
Michael Murie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 11:13 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
@Evan, is your quad 2.66 a Nehalem? Also, how much ram?

@Paul, same for you.

I started a post yesterday without seeing this one, but more curious about the i7 Quad iMacs. I'm going to test a few towers this morning.
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:06 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Murie View Post
Paul: I think Evan's results of 1.7x refers to file size; not the time it's taking.
I was referring to the "a bit less than real time".

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chapman View Post
is your quad 2.66 a Nehalem? Also, how much ram?
No, mine's getting old now, it's a quad 2.66 Xeon with 8GB 667 MHz Ram.
__________________
Blog: www.pauljoy.com
Company: www.videotrader.co.uk
Paul Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:23 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 127
Real time

About real time on an 8 Core. Much faster in Quicktime player if doing more than one. Each movie goes in a different core. Alan
Alan Halfhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 12:32 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
@Alan,

Hey, which 8-core do you have and how much ram?

Are you using QT player to transcode everything vs MPEG Streamclip?
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 01:35 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 127
Cptr

10.0.2
2 x 2.8 quad
10 GB ram
Alan Halfhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 01:40 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 127
Movie Player

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Chapman View Post
@Alan,

Hey, which 8-core do you have and how much ram?

Are you using QT player to transcode everything vs MPEG Streamclip?
I used the old Player in Snow Leopard.

I like QT because of the ability do many clips at once.
Alan Halfhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2010, 02:57 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Woburn, MA
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Joy View Post
I was referring to the "a bit less than real time".

Ach! I totally missed that! Clearly I need to buy new hardware.
Michael Murie is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:58 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network