Does a Class 4 card work with T2i / 7D? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 24th, 2010, 08:37 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Does a Class 4 card work with T2i / 7D?

already have 2 Kisgton SDHC class 4 cards (32 and 16GB) and I`m going to buy a T2i.
Will them work?
Thanks
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 09:39 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
They should work, but maybe not continuously. The buffer may fill before it stops recording.
Buy some Class 6 cards.
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 10:30 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Manual said class 6 or better.
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 10:40 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 758
Class 4 is a bad bet.

The Canon 5D2/7D/550D,T2i all record in the neighborhood of 40 Mbps.
Class 4 corresponds to 32 Mbps - adequate for all the 25 Mbps and less
camcorders out there, but not for this.
Bill Koehler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 12:47 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 431
Class 4 for video, absolutely not! Speaking from experience. You'll just get frustrated. I even had some issues with class 6 cards. I use class 10 cards and have not had any issues.
__________________
"Get Er Done!!!"
G. Lee Gordon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 01:27 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Thank you all for the responses.
Anyway, have anyone had positive experiences using a class 4 card with a T2I or 7D?
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2010, 02:50 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Dont do it, class 6 should be minimum for video, why even bother thinking about using class4 ???
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 08:36 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Because I`ve got two of them.
Thank you
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2010, 09:48 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 558
Ron, just sell the cards!! Technology advances and sometimes we have to cut our losses. Even better keep the cards as backup if you take STILLS with the camera. Class 6 16GB are going cheap, $40. Well worth the gain in performance.

JS
John Stakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 02:58 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N. Ireland
Posts: 370
I bought a Sandisk Ultra 8gb class 4 card with my 550d, before I read up on the camera, and noticed some dropped frames on test footage. I've exchanged it for a sandisk extreme III 8gb class 10 and have noticed considerable speed improvement.

The manual recommends a minimum of class 6 for video. If you are using your camera for anything critical I'd invest in at least class 6 cards. IMHO.

Drew
Drew Curran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 08:44 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Thank you Drew, Colin and John

My next purchase will be a Transcend 16 GB class 6.

Best
Ron German is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 09:32 AM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Got my T2i last week and shot with a 16gig class 4. Worked fine. However, now that I've heard the naysayers, I'm going to return my other 16 gig card and buy a class 6 for a wedding I'm shooting this weekend. Thanks for the heads up.

I did not notice any dropped frames. And had not buffering issues shooting about 6 to 7 continuous minutes. So, I'm surprised by the words of caution. But I suppose it is best to follow the manual, which I devoured immediately upon getting the camera.
Jonathan W. Hickman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 10:24 AM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 12
Is it possible that there are drop frames or just buffer full if level 2/4 cards are used?
Andy Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 05:38 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Both, I'm afraid.
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 27th, 2010, 11:03 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Picked up a couple 16 gig class 6 cards on Amazon. The Transcend ones. But I've just used both the log and transfer plugin and streamclip on about 4 minutes of clips and can't tell any problems from the class 4 cards I've got.

For my documentary work, these cards may present future problems, so I'll move to class 6 next week. I've got to shoot a family wedding next week, so, I'll use the class 6.

Also, I think that streamclip is just as fast as that new Canon Plug-in. This is based on importing two clips. I like that I can bring the clips in at HDV or other codecs using Streamclip. The only options with the Canon plug-in are Pro-Res 422 and HQ or AIC (which is probably what the HDV one is I'm getting with Streamclip).

I've never used Pro Res with my projects because I've been shooting HDV for the last year and a half.
Jonathan W. Hickman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network