mixed feelings sunday at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 28th, 2010, 06:38 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bordeaux, going to Bangkok, 2011
Posts: 232
mixed feelings sunday

Imho
that puzzled me a lot
if I could get auto-restart on 4 gig limit, THAT WOULD BE HUGE step
to have a feeling doing film

I would be like changing reels in 16mm days

off
I do guess and stop that EU talk
Canon opted for fat32 as win users do know the limts,
Canon would vandalise his prosumer, pro entry camcorder market,
using NTFS as it can be read by Mac and Linux but
will never do this
on

off
there is on the web an app how to control from the iphone
maybe somebody can give a hint
on again

imagine a tiny netbook with a 250 gb sata tethered to the D7
could do the job and be 6 hours on air.

an application like changing reels in 16 mm days, just restart
the next fat32 reel would be heaven

and magic lantern has not yet done the trick
a seamles restart as all camcorders....do

but that would start a big drop in camcorder sales

an iphon jailbreak does not stop iphone sales.......
jailbraking a 7d or 5d for a seamles 4 gig reel restart
would literally put an and on all prosumer camcorder sales

sad story
so a good camera for vimeo or short footage....

Last edited by Régine Weinberg; March 28th, 2010 at 07:16 AM.
Régine Weinberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 06:15 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 85
I'm always confused by people saying how much problem a 12 minute take limit is...I mean who the heck shoots longer than 12 minutes unless it's a speech? I don't think I have EVER even come close to a 12 minute take and if I was I would get a regular video cam and lock it down.

So confused.
__________________
www.insectula.com
Mike Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 07:04 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
I shoot interviews all the time. It's probably 40% of what I shoot. These might be for doc type pieces, marketing videos, whatever.

Most of the time these interviews are longer than 12 minutes (probably on average 45-60 minutes) and with my traditional camera I'll let it run the entire time. I just prefer it that way. Sometimes one answer might exceed 12 minutes. These aren't necessarily desired but sometimes there's gold in those minutes and to have to stop them to hit record again could disrupt the flow of their thoughts.

Using DSLRs will simply add some additional work to the mix for shots like this. But I accept that since it also brings such great things with it.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 10:22 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Estes Park, CO USA
Posts: 426
Ken Burns has shot MILES of film for interviews. A 400' S16mm reel lasts about eleven minutes. If Ken figured out how to get good stuff with that limitation, I think we can, too.
Brian Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:31 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Posts: 85
Yeah I guess interviews might be the case where it could get longer. The interviews I have shot have been much quicker as I'm editing things down to 30 sec spots and I usually have them get to the point quicker and concise...but guess I can understand how one could go longer...maybe...
__________________
www.insectula.com
Mike Peterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2010, 11:53 PM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Interviews often last a long time. Changing a card mid interview is no big deal. I've done a lot of interviews with betacam, 30 min tapes, just stop and start. The real issue for me is the overheating. Stopping an interview for 60 seconds to change a card/tape is no biggie, you won't lose continuity, but a 20 minute wait is another story.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 12:09 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 842
Of course it's workable, just saying it's a slight bit more trouble than I'm used to. But I'm willing to accept it.
Bryan McCullough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 29th, 2010, 05:01 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bordeaux, going to Bangkok, 2011
Posts: 232
it is workable ok
if I could say after 9 minutes stop, go to the next 4 gig slice, wonderfull
that would be like changing reels the moment I've time to do it
live events, shows, fashion, or
outside me in the moment Bankog (the red's on the street)........ok my ip is french

we got a 24x36 Cmos 3744x5616 pixel waoh 21,1 M great
we are using 1920x1020 just the center

we have a 24-105 zoom and it is damm sharp
ok we are using the center
we got focus pulling that is cool gives me a felling
like on my Aaton.......LOL great I do love it
and all the glasses to play waoh

hold on do a bit math 1920x1020
a Canon XL H1A is a three CCD
and comes with less Alaiasing problems as every 1 CCD has to have
a bit a sad fact
The 7d with all, a marshal screen as the Zacuto is for me
wearing glasse in a total wrong position

ok not the same thing but a XL H1A viewfinder is quite the same
position like on a Arri or Aaaton s16

and pimp your 7d

wishlist
dreaming

restart to the next slice on the flash card before the camara stops
have the uncompressed HDMI out without the red dot...syndicate
split the HDMI for a decend viewfinder
Régine Weinberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 11:24 AM   #9
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
I shoot a lot of long interviews and don't have any problem with the 12 minute limit. There are always places to stop. None of my interviewees has ever talked for 12 minutes non stop. With 16 mm film you have to stop and change a magazine, so you're down for a couple of minutes. With the 7D, you simply stop between questions and start again, taking about 2 seconds. At the end of a card, it just takes a few seconds to change--lots quicker than tape.

Stopping and starting the Zoom H4N takes longer than the camera, and you have to be careful and make sure it's rolling. Most people have a soundman, but I do a lot of interviews by myself, with only another person being the interviewer, so I have to keep my eye on that Zoom very religiously.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 30th, 2010, 11:36 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: NY
Posts: 36
I think this is why many people have a dedicated camcorder recording continuously and use the 7D/550D/GH1 as a filler for specific angles and stylized shots.

I think I read it at the T2i/550D forum that 7D/550D works great as filler cams but as a main cam, you need more planning. And as Brian Brown mentioned, if Ken Burns did it, we can. Ummm....... with enough talent, that is. hahaha Not saying you have no talent ;)

G'luck!
Daniel D. Kim is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:54 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network