"Video Recording Stopped Automatically" Message - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 2nd, 2010, 02:24 PM   #16
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 186
SDHC Cards for HD video

The following is a link to a reliable testing site (Tom's hardware) where you can find the results of some SDHC cards tested for their ability to handle a high throughput data stream, like HD video. I tend to look exclusively at the lowest write speeds when deciding on any flash memory (SD, SDHC, CF...), and Sandisk Extremes (III) are all I'd currently consider for HD video purposes in the SDHC realm. And I have no financial interest in Sandisk, in case anyone was wondering.

Link:
http://www.tomshardware.com/charts/s...Rates,864.html
Brad Higerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 3rd, 2010, 10:42 PM   #17
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new york city
Posts: 113
Transcend class 6 16gb have only given me that message when hitting the 4 gb mark- otherwise, no problem at all!

FYI
David St. Juskow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 4th, 2010, 06:48 AM   #18
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Transcend class 6 should be fine. Many EX1 users have been using these cards for a long time without any issues at all. I use them constantly with an EX1 and a JVC GY-HM100, recording 1920x1080 @ 35mbps
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2010, 12:11 PM   #19
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,505
I got this message yesterday for the first time.
However, I was almost to the end of this particular card (16GB Class 6 Delkin SD card). As I immediately pushed record again and after only 2 minutes got a card full message.

This was the first time that I have seen this message as I haven't had a full card to date. I normally remove data from the card after each shoot.

So I am figuring that the message appears when you are getting to the end of the SD card.
__________________
Michael
www.lvpvideo.com
Michael Liebergot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2010, 05:28 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 48
Transcend

I got the transcend class 6 and when I first time used, it stopped video recording immediately. I pressed the recording button and it continued recording. however, intermittently "buffer indicator" popped. Is the buffer indicator display normal during video recording?
Subbu Vedula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 5th, 2010, 06:49 PM   #21
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 48
Transcend did not work either

When I retried, I had the same error. The difference is I have shot some still pcis and then recorded video. Is there such a thing that the card should exclusively be used for video recording. I am wondering that it may be my camera.
Subbu Vedula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6th, 2010, 11:06 AM   #22
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 85
You may be getting read/write errors on the SD card. Copy all your files and try doing a couple of low level formats.
John Mastrogiacomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 01:12 AM   #23
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Huntington Beach, California
Posts: 2
Tried two Patriot 16GB LX series class 10 cards. Both were low level formatted in camera. Both crash. The most I could get was 6 minutes, but usually it averaged three minutes before recording stopped. The buffer level indicator flashes one bar then maxes out before stopping. It flashes so quickly that I didn't notice it right away.

Received a 16GB Transcend class 6 card yesterday and no problem as of yet.
Scott Hegman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 07:24 AM   #24
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece.
Posts: 179
Avoid Patriot then.
Thanks for sharing.
__________________
My Films My Works FB
George Angeludis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2010, 07:47 PM   #25
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
I was getting the error message on my ADATA Turbo Class6 until I did a low-level format.
Now it's much better.
8GB Transcend SDHC had no errors. Go figure.
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 08:58 AM   #26
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: auberry,ca
Posts: 5
I have had the same problem with class 6, i have 3 32gb and none work for hd video, work fine for pics. Then i bought class 10 cards and no problems, but all class 10 cards are no equal. Be sure they are at a minimum 20 MB/S and 30+ up is better. According to Canon when i called them they said class 10 only, the faster the better
Garth Witzel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 10:19 AM   #27
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece.
Posts: 179
They should update the manual though. It says Class 6 and up.
__________________
My Films My Works FB
George Angeludis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2010, 10:31 AM   #28
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece.
Posts: 179
I found the Silicon Image Class 10 16gb for 40 euros here and it seems a good card with good i/o.
__________________
My Films My Works FB
George Angeludis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2010, 11:03 PM   #29
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 80
manual states to use class 6 and above...and remember to look at that five-level indicator when it appears on the right side of the screen during shooting...the slower the card the faster that indicator climbs...it indicates how much data has not been written to the card...if indicator hits the top you get that message stating recording has automatically stopped...
Matthew Harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2010, 05:08 PM   #30
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 143
Just had my first automatic stop. Thankfully, not during an important shoot.
__________________
Michael Rosenberger
Sure I'll shoot your wedding, for two million dollars.
Michael Rosenberger is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network