"Video Recording Stopped Automatically" Message at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 1st, 2010, 07:55 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 48
"Video Recording Stopped Automatically" Message

I am using class 6 Kingston SD cards, I keep getting the "recording stopped automatically" message almost every time I shot (the buffer indicator is displayed). Should I be using even faster SD cards? Or it could be a problem with Kingston?
Subbu Vedula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 08:03 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
How much time is recorded when you get that message?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 08:17 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 48
Not even two minutes, Chris.
Thanks
Subbu
Subbu Vedula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 08:33 AM   #4
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
I would try a different Class 6 SDHC card.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 09:33 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 48
Thanks Chris; Will try a different card.
Subbu Vedula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 09:36 AM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Also Subbu, what is the capacity of that Kingston card?
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 09:52 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 48
8GB.

Thanks
Subbu
Subbu Vedula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 09:55 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
I had a 32 gb tell me that and the card turned out to be bad.(delkin class 6) lost footage. put in another card (same type) and it's been working fine.
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 02:06 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 85
I got the same message yesterday with a Transcend class 10 8 GB card. Only got it once.
Card was less than half full.
John Mastrogiacomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 02:11 PM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
just really watch those cards that give you that message...don't record anything critical or non repeatable. I learned the hard way!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 06:51 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 57
I got the same thing around 13minutes into continuous shooting. File size was 3.98GB, so I thought it was hitting the 4GB file size limit or some sort. Is this an anomaly?
Euisung Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 08:33 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Euisung, the camera cannot record for more than about 12-13 minutes at a time (I'm not sure the exact length because I don't own one for this very reason)

Once you hit that limit you will have to hit record again.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 09:51 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
The record time limit is 00:29:59;00
Any thing less is caused by something out of the camera's control.
I'm just thankful it lets you know and finishes writing the file.
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2010, 10:12 PM   #14
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
The record time limit in Standard Definition is 00:29:59;00

The record time limit in High Definition is approximately 12 to 14 minutes, give or take.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 2nd, 2010, 01:49 AM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
It's a range in HD - 12 to 14 minutes as Chris mentions - because the actual limit is the 4GB file size. Depending on your ISO setting, that could be anywhere in this range of durations.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
www.lovestorymedia.com
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network