7D - Mac not recognising? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 7th, 2010, 06:34 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
Posts: 104
7D - Mac not recognising?

I have a got 7D and have plugged it into my mac but it's not showing up as a drive as other digital SLR's do. Have installed the Canon software and also added the new Final Cut Pro update to help with the import process, but absolutely no sign of the camera showing!

The only way I can get the camera to show is by opening iPhoto (which recognises the camera) and importing everything, including movie clips - in through this way, but surely that's not the way it's supposed to work!

Any Mac people out there that can help? Do I need to have the camera on a particular setting before connecting to a computer? I didn't find the manual very instructive on this.

thanks
Martin Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 06:46 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
Image Capture App

in spotlight search > image capture.
It will detect the 7D to download images.
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2010, 09:21 PM   #3
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
The best way is to get a CF card reader.

And if you don't want Iphoto to launch every time you hook up the camera or insert a card, you can set that in the Iphoto Prefs.
Attached Thumbnails
7D - Mac not recognising?-screen-shot-2010-04-07-10.17.58-pm.png  
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 03:42 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: London
Posts: 104
thanks, I managed to get it open fine with the image capture, although iPhoto would have opened it to. any advantage between either?

I would have thought that when I connected the camera to my G5, that it would have appeared as a Drive on my desktop - does this not happen with the 7D?

Can you recommend an ebay compact flashcard reader that would work well with my G5?
Martin Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 07:20 AM   #5
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
If your G5 is only USB1 look in the specs in the system profiler (USB 2 says: USB high speed bus), you should get a FireWire reader, it will be faster.

This one should work well:

SanDisk Extreme Card reader ( external ) - FireWire - CompactFlash Card type I, CompactFlash Card type II - Mac, PC
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 09:02 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Campbell View Post
I have a got 7D and have plugged it into my mac but it's not showing up as a drive as other digital SLR's do. Have installed the Canon software and also added the new Final Cut Pro update to help with the import process, but absolutely no sign of the camera showing!
thanks
I had the same problem. When I called Canon, they admitted that their EOS software does not work with OS Snow; they are working to update their software and fix this problem.

In the meantime use Image Capture.
John Kopec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 04:52 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Salisbury Maryland
Posts: 161
I'm with Olof ... a Lexar reader is like $25 on Ebay. Takes a load off the battery too.

Jim
Jim Cancil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 8th, 2010, 08:49 PM   #8
Sponsor: Westside AV
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mount Washington Valley, NH, USA
Posts: 1,365
I never install any software from still camera companies on my Macs.

I just use card readers. Express 34 on MBP's USB2 on MP's.

I use Aperture and PSD for stills and just drag transfer .movs. It has always worked well for me. I currently use 10.6.2 or 10.5.8 on all of our Macs here, we have eight I think.

I often help people who installed drivers from discs shipped with cameras, they often get you in trouble. Often they are old versions that are incompatible with current SW. At the very least always go to manufactures site and read all notes and use the correct version.

But like I said on Macs you don't need the SW shipped with Canon cameras. Now things like P2 and EXcam is a different story.
Olof Ekbergh is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network