How to use Sigma 10-20mm Nikon lens on T2i at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 29th, 2010, 09:59 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 93
How to use Sigma 10-20mm Nikon lens on T2i

Hey all, I'm getting a T2i to replace my Nikon D40 / JVC GY-HD110u setup and I'd love to find a way to continue to use my Sigma 10-20mm 1:4-5.6 DC HSM lens with the new setup. Can you guys give me a little guidance as to what sort of adapter I'll need to get to make it work? The aperture control is on the end of the lens that mounts to the camera, so there would have to be some sort of aperture control.

Thanks!
Evan Agee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2010, 10:06 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Timonium, MD
Posts: 142
Evan, I think you just need a simple Nikon to EOS adapter. It's a very good thing the aperture control is on the lens. I have a couple of these: http://www.amazon.com/Fotodiox-Nikon-Canon-Camera-Adapter/dp/B001G4QXLE
I just ordered the Sigma 20mm 1.8 to use with my T2i. I hear its soft wide open, but decent about mid f stop range.

How is the 10-20 Sigma?

Good luck.
Jeff Krepner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2010, 10:13 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 93
Thanks Jeff! The Sigma 10-20mm has been absolutely wonderful for photography, I'm hoping to get similar results with video. To clarify, the aperture control isn't a ring on the lens, it's a small, spring loaded "tab" on the back side of the lens, which wouldn't be accessible after the lens is mounted.
Evan Agee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2010, 02:28 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Timonium, MD
Posts: 142
In that case, I'm not sure. Sorry. With manual Nikon mount lenses, the simple adapters work. However, if you are talking about being able to control the lens from the camera then I guess you would need an adapter that lets the lens talk to the body.

Can anyone else assist here?
Jeff Krepner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2010, 09:08 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
There are adaptors available for nikon to mico- 4/3rds which allow you to control aperture on Nikon lenses without an aperture ring, but I don't know if they have a similar Nikon to EOS adaptor.

How it works is the adapor has a ring on it which controls a bolt/tab or similar which then controls the tab on the lens mount. So It's not necassary to have an adaptor which lets the lens 'talk' to the body with nikon lenses because they have that little mechanical tab.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 30th, 2010, 04:02 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 93
Decided to just sell the lens and either get the Canon version or more likely just get the Canon 15mm F2.8.
Evan Agee is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:33 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network