h264 back into the camera ... at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 4th, 2010, 03:46 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 11
h264 back into the camera ...

Hi,

Is there anyone who tried to put an edited clip back into the camera?
I guess the real question is: is it picky as to what type of h264 you can playback?

Thanks,

François
Francois Lacasse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 04:00 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 177
I don't think so...

there's an associated .thm file. Without this file the camera sees "No Image"

So, why would you want to do this?
__________________
Rusty
Rusty Rogers | Films
Rusty Rogers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4th, 2010, 10:41 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 11
Thanks for the reply Rusty,

It would of been nice to use it as a playback device.
I switched from an HV20 (when I had a project done, I could put it back to tape)
Now, how can I view a finished project in HD on a TV?
Hmmmm ...
Francois Lacasse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010, 05:58 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Torbay, UK
Posts: 170
Get something like a WDTV player if you want a portable player to play back the files on.
Jonathan Palfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2010, 09:17 AM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 11
Thanks for the cue Jonathan ... I'll look it up!
Francois Lacasse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 6th, 2010, 07:28 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Timonium, MD
Posts: 142
I wish someone could figure out a way to play back files created outside the camera in the camera. I really wanted to play some color bars so I could check the LCD display for color/brightness accuracy.

I tried tricking the camera into playing back a file named as if it was created in-camera and even renamed an existing .THM... no dice.
Jeff Krepner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 10:10 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chelmsford England
Posts: 287
Yes, the .THM (thumbnail) is also a JPEG, but specifically it contains EXIF data relating to the .MOV file. I would guess that editing the EXIF data in the .THM would do the trick, but I'll let you know once I get around to playing with this. I also think it would be a pretty cool feature to have.

If anyone else wants to have a go, here are some EXIF related tools:

EXIF editor
James Donnelly is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network