"strobing" from 7D at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 9th, 2010, 11:07 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 253
"strobing" from 7D

I've noticed something I'm curious if anyone else has experienced. I'm shooting in 1280/60p with a shutter speed 60 and 2.8 aperture on my 7D, and every now and then I notice some strobing while recording. When I notice it, I stop the recording, then start again immediately, and it's usually gone. Sometimes I don't notice it till I get into post though, which really sucks. I'm glad I'm not shooting anything critical at weddings with this 7D yet.

Anyone else notice this?
Dan Shallenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 02:01 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 276
Images: 2
do you mean you can actually see it happening in the monitor? I haven't had that issue at all. Something to look out for but the fact that you get it, stop the recording and then restart sounds like an issue with the sensor not reading fast enough. I might contact Canon on that one and find out if its something they know of or an issue they should take a look at your camera through warranty on.
Jeremy Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 06:06 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 140
At 60p I always use a shutter speed of 120 and always slow the footage down in post to 30p, I don't see any effects.
__________________
My Stock Video Blog
Linkedin
Norman Pogson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 08:15 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 253
Yep, I can actually see it on the lcd screen. I thought maybe it was just a slow refresh on the lcd screen, so I ignored it. But then saw it in some of the footage. So, my next shoot (which was last Saturday) I looked for it, and when I saw it on the lcd screen, I stopped rolling and restarted. That usually took care of it, and the footage after doing that is fine.

This is crazy. I'm so busy with shoots over the next few months, and sending my camera in for a few weeks would really be tough. But it's better than that strobing I'm getting.

I'm going to try 1080/30p today and see if I get the same thing. I imagine I will, but it's worth a try.
Dan Shallenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 10th, 2010, 04:01 PM   #5
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
If you're shooting at 60 fps, I believe your shutter speed should be 1/120.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 14th, 2010, 09:54 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 253
Ok, I did more testing, and I'm getting this "strobing" effect no matter the frame rate or resolution. Then I decided to try something different. I went and bought a mini-hdmi to hdmi cable and plugged the 7D directly into my hdtv. Hmm, no strobing at all. Nothing but silky smooth playback.

So, apparently it's my computer. I have yet to render any 7d footage to a finished file or dvd... just been testing it in quicktime. I have the newest quad-core mac pro with 6gb of ram. So, would this be my processing power slowing me down, or the video card?
Dan Shallenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15th, 2010, 03:27 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Amsterdam, NL
Posts: 217
strobing is usually a result of a clash in shutter speed/ framerate with certain types of artificial light.. Are you noticing the effect under the same light source always? Try experimenting with other shutter speeds and it should fix it, otherwise post a video and it should be possible to say what the source of the problem is.
Manus Sweeney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2010, 02:49 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Las Vegas, NV., Los Angeles, CA,
Posts: 220
yeah I get it sometimes under different odd lighting situations, lights pulsing out of frequency with the sensors i guess, i have also noticed that if i ramp the shutter speed up and then back down it usually goes away, weird. let us know if you find out anything.
__________________
Jon Bickford, Trepany Films
San Pedro, CA
Trephine001@aol.com
Jon Bickford is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network