7D on an older Mac at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 20th, 2010, 10:32 AM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10
7D on an older Mac

I recently got a 7D as a second camera on a project. I'm impressed with what I've seen, and I'm looking forward to exploring this camera and it's capabilities.

However, I have an older PowerPC Mac (dual 2.5GHz - very nice for it's day) running FCP 6. Although FCP 6 supports ProRes, the PPC Mac does not. It seems the recommended workflow for dealing with 7D footage is using ProRes - and I can't do that.

So, how do I deal with 7D files without spending $$$$ to upgrade. Money is tight, and I don't do much editing professionally so it's hard to justify the expense.
Peter Rummel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 12:11 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Hey Peter,

I just recently purchased an i7 iMac to edit on, but I still have my quad 2.5 PPC that I have been doing ProRes on for a few years. From what I recall of the ProRes specs, you can't "live capture" transcode into ProRes. You have to convert it after you capture or when rendering the timeline. With FCP6, though, you will only have the regular and HQ versions of ProRes (not Lite or proxy). That all comes with Studio 3 (FCP7).

You should have everything installed into the Quicktime components folder for Compressor or MPEG Streamclip to transcode the h.264 into ProRes (regular).
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2010, 12:57 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 28
Hi Peter,

I have the dual 2.3 GHz G5 tower. It supports ProRes, and yours does too, if you have Studio 2 or later, which you do.
__________________
Meteor Tower Films
We make music videos, design video for live theater, and build interesting contraptions.
Ryan Mast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24th, 2010, 10:41 AM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 10
Well.... I stand corrected. I just encoded a test clip and it worked fine. Funny how I have gone all these years thinking ProRes wouldn't work on my Mac. Many thanks to the folks who took the time to teach me otherwise.
Peter Rummel is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network