Choppy MPEG Streamclip to ProRes 422 LT at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 22nd, 2010, 08:48 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 3
Choppy MPEG Streamclip to ProRes 422 LT

HELP,

Doing my first edit of 7D footage, 1080p, 24fps. Bit of a nOOb, was out of the game for a while. Found out I needed to transcode the h.264 .MOV files into ProRes 422 LT.

Used Compressor and it took forever! It took forever just to assign a destination for a batch of files. Installed MPEG Streamclip. Used these settings:

Export to Quicktime
Prores 422 LT
100% quality
23.98 frame rate
Interlaced Scaling & Deinterlace Video are DESELECTED
1920x1080 unscaled
Uncompressed Audio

It flew through the test conversion, 75MB/sec data rate. I was stoked. So I converted like 6 hours of footage. Bad idea.

I never checked the transcoded output file until just now. It's choppy. Unusable. Viewing transcoded file in quicktime. Original looks great, transcoded looks horrible.

Compressor transcoded fine. Please help if you are out there, O wise wizards of editing.
Jamison Luther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2010, 02:35 PM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
That's weird. Your settings look proper. Did the Compressor file that worked go to the same hard drive as the MPEG Streamclip ones that don't work? Ie., could the problem be a slow drive? Just a thought. Have you tried restarting? On my system after I do a bunch of processor-intensive things, sometimes I get some jerky playback in my timeline. Restart and it's cool.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2010, 02:47 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 5
Need help....

Yeap your settings looks o.k....
Try at Apple ProRes 422 without LT....
and what is your mac configuration.....
Christos Houliara is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 23rd, 2010, 04:39 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Oppland, Norway
Posts: 1,394
Why are you guys doing it so difficult?

Download the EOS Movie Plugin E1 for Final Cut Pro, it works like a breeze!

More info: Canon Digital Learning Center - Introducing EOS Movie Plugin-E1 for Final Cut Pro

The driver download site:
Canon EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera - select OS: MacOS X and then listed under software: EOS Movie Plugin-E1 for Final Cut Pro
__________________
- Per Johan
Per Johan Naesje is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network