Displaying recorded material on my TV at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 25th, 2010, 07:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 51
Displaying recorded material on my TV

I recently bought the 7D. When I connect it to my TV through the non-HD-cables, I can't seem to view the recorded material (1920x1080, 25P) as i would like to, that is: filling the screen, with no text or other stuff that is not the image proper.
Now, the best I get (by pressing the INFO button one or more times) is a vertically slightly compressed picture that leaves black at the top and bottom. Also, there is some time info above the picture.

Will this change when I buy a HDMI-cable that actually fits into the camera? That is, is this just an issue when viewing material in SD on a TV?

Many people, like me, are presumably using a TV during shooting indoors to set the focus correctly and so on. So why doesn't it look like I want?

Grateful for any help here.
Nikolaj Marquez von Hage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2010, 04:00 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 51
OK, I'll try again. How do you guys do to monitor during shooting? Is it possible to get full-screen picture from the 7D on a flat-screen full-HD TV-display?

Or is my question simply too stupid to be worthy of an answer? :)
Nikolaj Marquez von Hage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2010, 04:11 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
I monitor on a 7 inch Swit HD monitor using the HDMI out. You can get rid of most of the info on the output except for the red record dot. It's good enough for focus and framing, but that's about all.
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2010, 05:08 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 51
And you don't get a vertically compressed picture with black space above and below the image?
Nikolaj Marquez von Hage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26th, 2010, 09:40 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: London, England
Posts: 969
I get correct aspect ratio, but with look around, which I zoom so it is as near full frame as possible .
__________________
Writer-Director-DOP
www.liamhall.net
Liam Hall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2010, 08:57 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 66
Best thing for under $100.00 is the MediaGate MG-M2TVD. It plays almost any video format including footage right off the Canon 5d & 7d Blows my mind Its the best money I've ever spent.
Walmart.com: MediaGate MG-M2TVD 1080p HDMI 1.3 MediaPlayer with DTS Support RMVB (Wireless N Optional): Computers
Martin Smith is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:41 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network