How to Edit DSLR Footage in Premiere Pro CS4 without NeoScene at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2010, 02:25 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
How to Edit DSLR Footage in Premiere Pro CS4 without NeoScene

I wasn't ready to upgrade to CS5 yet .. and not sure if I want to spend $99 for NeoScene. Here's my approach to edit DSLR clips in Premiere CS4.

How to Edit DSLR Footage in Premiere Pro CS4 | L.A. Color Blog

with the help of the free Matrox I-Frame HD codec as intermediate codec. =)
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 12:11 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Palm Coast, Florida
Posts: 59
Thanks Taky

Slavomir Valko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 02:55 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
slavo, what would be your conclusion? I can't tell much difference between the first and second clip.

Also, it's difficult to judge based on a still. It'll also be easier to have all 3 of them showing side by side. Is it possible?
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 04:17 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Palm Coast, Florida
Posts: 59
I got older computer and using Matrox codec (avi files) seems to keep Premiere much happier. I didn't like gamma shift on MPEG Steamclip so Matrox I Frame HD is in my opinion a winner.

Side by side coming up later today.
Slavomir Valko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 06:04 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Matrox used to lock the I-frame HD codec to be used with their hardware only. Same for the VFW. However, I found out they forgot to unlock it in an early VFW downloaded version. I posted it in their forum and they freaked out .. hehe
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2010, 07:56 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Palm Coast, Florida
Posts: 59
Side by side comparison of Canon T2i/550D footage, transcoded footage using Adobe Media Encoder + Matrox MPEG-2 I Frame and MPEG Steamclip + Avid DNxHD.

Slavomir Valko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2010, 03:45 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 691
If someone could test Matrox, DNxHD and NeoScene like Salvomir has, that would be great!

I am feeling the same way Taky is about not wanting to switch to CS5 just yet... But I need to do something about getting one of these programs soon so I can edit my footage. A test between them would be very helpfull.

Thanks!
Terry Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2010, 10:53 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 2,109
Terry, you can download neoscene trial to test. Matrox codec is free to download too. So instead of waiting for someone to test it for you, maybe you can perform a test to show us?
__________________
LA Color Pros Blog
RODE Authorized Reseller . Comer LED Camera Lights . TakyBox HTML5 Menu Generator
Taky Cheung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2010, 11:28 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
An equally important reason for using Neoscene is the fact that it performs the 10 bit correction for luma range and colour space on Canon DSLR clips, this is crucial to getting the best from your footage, and saves an awful lot of time messing about with curves at the edit stage. + of course you get amazing quality, easily editable clips. I edit EX1 and 550D footage without any problems on my aging core 2 duo 2.400 pc with 2gb ram. $99 for Neoscene was a far cheaper option than a new PC
__________________
Colin

Last edited by Colin Rowe; August 22nd, 2010 at 09:01 AM.
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:55 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network