Problem converting h264 files in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 21st, 2010, 03:44 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 165
Problem converting h264 files in FCP

I have just completed shooting a ton of stuff on the 7D and now ready to edit. I go to FCP and choose Log and Transfer. The window comes up. When I select the folder where all of my clips are located, I get an error message telling me Contains unsupported media or has an invalid directory structure. I swear I have successfully done this before. Any help in getting this worked out is greatly appreciated as I need to get this show assembled.

Thanks in advance,

Phil
Phil Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 05:04 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
Do you have Canons EOS movie plug-in for FCP installed? Otherwise, you will not be able to log and transfer H.264 7D files.
However I suggest my workflow which is to convert the 7D files to ProRes before you get to FCP - I use compressor but you can use mpeg streamclip as well.

At any rate you will have to convert the 7D files - you cannot use H.264 to edit with.
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 07:46 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 165
Canon Plug in is installed

Yep, the plug in is installed. That is what is confusing about this.
Phil Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2010, 09:18 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Is that canon 264 plugin out and about for regular other non-new canon owning folks (still have my XL1s - that's not relevant to this convo though)? I'd like to be able to offer editing to folks who are shooting on the 5D or 7D without having to add to my workflow as heavily.
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2010, 12:06 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 18
FCP Plugin

Here's a link to the plugin:

Canon U.S.A. : Consumer & Home Office : EOS 7D

It works great, just make sure to log and transfer straight from your CF cards, or copy both folders from your CF to your media drive. The plugin needs the DCIM and MISC folders in order to find your media.

Here's a good tutorial too: ProVideo Coalition.com: the EDITBLOG on PVC by Scott Simmons
Don Hardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 22nd, 2010, 12:42 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN, USA
Posts: 1,675
Excellent, thank you!
__________________
Web Youtube Facebook
Cole McDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 11:16 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indian Rocks Beach, FL
Posts: 165
You nailed it Don

I have only done this on one other occasion, so as soon as I saw "from the card" I new what I had done. I transfered everything from the card to a remote drive, then tried to import the clips from that drive through log and transfer. Thanks for clearing up the issue.

Phil
Phil Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 23rd, 2010, 02:47 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Hey Guys,
I am trying to figure out the best way to use the Canon Log and transfer plug in and decided a disk image of the card using Apple Disk Utility was worth a try. When you open the disk image FCP seems to find it well. Takes a longer time to transfer but worth a try. Drag Drop to a Folder while holding the option key seems easier
Batch digitizing from Mpeg Streamclip works for files which don't have the card structure. I haven't decided which way is better
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 24th, 2010, 07:26 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
I find the best way is to batch process to ProRes - as I need to offload the files as I shoot over a long period. I convert them on location so I have a second back-up.

But there are manyways to do this - you can use Compressor and also Final Cut with media manager.
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 01:09 AM   #10
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 10
Stuck trying to use the Plug in

I, like some of you on here, have installed the plug in but cannot get the files to come up in Log and T. It sees the folders, but does not import the files. It gives me the usual ""DCIM" contains unsupported media or has an invalid directory structure. Please choose a folder whose directory structure matches supported media." error message that someone earlier posted on. What is going on? I can drag and drop files in using File>Import Files, but that is not converting to Pro Res, is it? Does anyone have a clue about why this is not working?

Interestingly enough, Compressor does the job just fine, but it is a long running process...sigh...

Also, is there an Uninstall ability? I can't seem to find a way to remove the plug in, once installed.

Panasonic AVCHD import works fine. Could there be some incompatibility here?

FCP 7.0.3 - OS 10.6.5 - 10GB RAM
Alf Hanna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 04:55 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver Canada
Posts: 218
Alf, either the media in the folder is not from a compatible Canon camera, or you've changed the folder structure in some way. Starting with the compact flash straight out of the camera, you need to copy the DCIM folder and its entire contents to your hard drive. Then within the E1 plugin, add the DCIM folder (or its parent folder) and the plugin will find the files.

If this doesn't work, try adding the DCIM folder of a CF card with some footage on it (in a card reader). If that doesn't work, there may be something wrong with the installation.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II || L-Series Lenses || Steadicam Pilot || Final Cut Studio
www.lovestorymedia.com
Erik Andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 06:23 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Alf,
FCP Log and Transfer needs to see the EOS_Digital folder that comes up when you insert the card into a reader on a computer otherwise it doesn't see the media properly. You can do this when you copy the card or you can add the DCIM Folder to s properly configured folder.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 11:50 PM   #13
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seattle WA
Posts: 10
L&T with 7D ... still not working

thanks guys, but this seems like something that is a bug in my setup with this software. I know how to do L&T, do it with Panasonic AVCHD all the time, but since buying a 7D I cannot L&T with FCP. I've tried reading directly off a freshly formatted and shot to card, copied the card to HD ,etc. and it does not work. I cannot seem to 'uninstall' my Canon utilities to try reinistalling. It works to run this crap through Compressor, but that doesn't allow a proper L&T which FCP fanatics tell me is critical to making quality movies (tongue planted firmly in cheek). Anyone from Canon out there got a clue? if you are embarrassed just email me directly with uninstall protocals. Your secret is safe with me. If not, I'll just go back to Sony Vegas and do things fast and easy...which is what I like anyway. FCP is just a pig for average people like me. Too much media management..(sigh)..

Alf - with more TBs of hard drives than I ever thought possible, and having to micro manage every one of them with FCP. Why oh why is a simple move of files ever good enough? (and don't tell me that the genius' of Apple know best...)
Alf Hanna is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:21 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network