60D exposure problem - Page 2 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 8th, 2010, 07:13 PM   #16
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Von Lanken View Post
Hi Rich,

The metering works while recording with my kit lens and vintage manual focus lenses. It just does not work properly with vintage manual focus lenses.
Am I missing something here, or is this a contradictory statement?
Sam Kanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2010, 07:24 PM   #17
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 910
Hi Sam,

No, it's not, but I can see how it could be taken that way. Rich had a question about getting the exposure meter to work when recording. He was not getting the exposure meter to function while recording.

The exposure meter does work while recording with all of my lenses, old and new. However, the exposure meter does not work properly with vintage manual focus lenses.
__________________
Mark Von Lanken
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 8th, 2010, 07:37 PM   #18
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Pleasanton, CA
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Von Lanken View Post
On the 60D press the button right below the white *. Well I also guess it depends on how you setup the camera in the menu. On the first menu under AF and metering butt. for...you will find about 10 different wasy to configure the metering, AE lock and AF. Then on the second menu page you can dertermine how long the meter stays on by selecting Metering timer.

Mark -

The metering works while recording with my kit lens and vintage manual focus lenses. It just does not work properly with vintage manual focus lenses.
Thanks for the tip, it took a bit of reconfiguring since I am not using MF lens (I like to use Quick AF before I start recording). As a result I needed to find a combination that had AF and Start Metering, plus one that was only start metering. The choices are not ideal since I never user AE Lock (always on manual exposure). I did not realize that you need to start metering again after hitting the record button.
Rich Ryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 9th, 2010, 05:00 PM   #19
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 229
wow, this cam is completely useless IMO then. so much for sticking a grey card in front of your lens and taking a meter reading then. this is incredible! thanks for posting this problem and sorry that it's at your expense, LOL! I know you saved me a frustrating purchase experience.
Aaron Courtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 13th, 2010, 06:37 PM   #20
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 40
Can anyone tell me if the monitor out on the 60D is HD or is it the same as in the T2i - sd?
John Poipie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 21st, 2010, 12:12 PM   #21
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 229
hey Mark, got another Q...why couldn't you just set exp comp to -2 and then meter accordingly?
Aaron Courtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 07:43 PM   #22
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 910
Hi Aaron,

That's a good idea. I will give it a try.
__________________
Mark Von Lanken
www.VonWeddingFilms.com
Mark Von Lanken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2010, 08:05 PM   #23
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
I would be curious to know WHAT metering is being used? I'd imagine when a Canon EFS lens is attached, the camera is likely set to multi-segment metering which is going to be excellent for most scenes. And when attaching a manual focus lens, I'd imagine since the camera can't talk to the lens, it's defaulted to center weighted or spot. This will certainly give very different results.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 30th, 2010, 10:55 PM   #24
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 229
If you hold a gray card directly in front of the lens so it covers edge to edge, then it won't matter what meter mode the cam is using (which you already know)....so I'd like Mark to do just that after setting exp comp to -2 and then let us know if a -0- meter reading is now properly exposed using manual, adapted lenses...

then pull the batt and see if the cam's exp comp stays at -2 (so you don't have to remember to keep setting it after powering down or replacing batteries)...
Aaron Courtney is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network