newbie needs to know-longest video clip possible on canon 60D/T2i? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 4th, 2011, 12:00 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 573
newbie needs to know-longest video clip possible on canon 60D/T2i?

i have a situation coming up where i might be interested in using a dslr for a shoot rather than a "proper" video camera (my emphasis/no range wars intended).

using a canon 60d at 1080p and capturing wild sound later to be used as a reference track, what is the longest video clip the camera can record before needing to switch sdhc cards?

thanks in advance to those who care to share more than i know.

be well

rob
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 12:48 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Camera records no more than 10-15 minutes per press of the record button. Camera records about 16GB in 45 minutes.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 12:49 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Posts: 2,979
If the 60d is the same as 7d:
http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/canon-eo...ml#post1594400
Les Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 12:59 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 32
If you are only capturing sound, just record into another device, such as a laptop or digital recorder. I assume you have a Rode VideoMic or something similar, because if you are using the internal mic, wild sound is the least of your worries (:

Also, there is no reason to record 1080p if all you want is sound :P
Jackson Hager is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:30 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
He didn't say all he wanted was sound. He said he was interested in wild sound to use for sync later.
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:36 PM   #6
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Katz View Post
using a canon 60d at 1080p... what is the longest video clip the camera can record before needing to switch sdhc cards?
As has been previously mentioned, you'll run into the 4GB clip length limit before you run out of space on an SDHC card.

The 4GB clip length limit usually manifests itself at appx. twelve minutes or so of 1080p HD video recording. You might have plenty of room left over on the card, but the clip will stop recording automatically once it reaches 4GB and you'll have to press record again to start a new file. In other words, past twelve minutes or so, there's no way to do any continuous recording... unless you switch to SD mode; that way it'll go up to 30 minutes per single shot. But it's standard definition.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:51 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 573
chris/perrone/all-

thanks for the needed info.

so at 12min or so (4gb) the recording stops.

if i hit record again, i'll be able to go another 12min (4gb) until the card is full.

some follow-up questions:

can the recording be started via wireless remote?

what if i stop at so 6min (2gb) and then hit the record button to start again, can i go for the full 12min or so (4gb)?

(i ask because i'm wondering if i use this set-up in an interview environment the responses are usually less than 10min per response and then i simply need to stop/start till i fill the card)

lastly, if forced to shoot sd, is it 16x9 sd or 4x3 sd?

again and always, thanks in advance to those who care to share.

be well

rob
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 01:59 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 4,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Katz View Post
some follow-up questions:

can the recording be started via wireless remote?
I believe it can.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Katz View Post
what if i stop at so 6min (2gb) and then hit the record button to start again, can i go for the full 12min or so (4gb)?
Yes, every press is a ~12 minute recording.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Katz View Post
lastly, if forced to shoot sd, is it 16x9 sd or 4x3 sd?
Great question and I really don't know. I'll look forward to hearing this answer from others. :)
__________________
DVX100, PMW-EX1, Canon 550D, FigRig, Dell Octocore, Avid MC4/5, MB Looks, RedCineX, Matrox MX02 mini, GTech RAID, Edirol R-4, Senn. G2 Evo, Countryman, Moles and Lowels.
Perrone Ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 03:02 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Katz View Post
lastly, if forced to shoot sd, is it 16x9 sd or 4x3 sd?
SD is 640x480 in 4x3 format, but alas 640x480 is more web based than anything else.

SD should be 720x576 for PAL or 720x540 for NTSC. So really, it's not "SD" in the television sense.
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 4th, 2011, 04:09 PM   #10
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
That's a good point... it's really more of a "VGA" mode than an "SD" mode.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5th, 2011, 06:22 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: new york city, new york
Posts: 573
all-

again, thanks for sharing your thoughts.

i'm surprised that the sd settings doesn't allow for 16x9.

for my clients there is a big difference, where 16x9 seems more current than 4x3.

too bad. with 30min record time for sd, i would have perhaps had considered using a dslr for this upcoming short project.

be well

rob
Rob Katz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2011, 10:36 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: UK
Posts: 232
With the latest magic lantern you can record for 29 minutes and 59 seconds at a lower bit rate using 1080p25, this is only ideal if you're not going to do heavy stuff on the footage in post as it would fall apart quicker when colour correcting.
Matt Thomas is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:45 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network