Error 70 on Canon 550D at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 8th, 2011, 12:48 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Error 70 on Canon 550D

All of a sudden, on my 550D I get occasionally an err 70 on the LCD display saying" Shooting is not possible due to an error. Turn the camera off and on again or re-install the battery"
I do all of the above, even replacing the SDHC card with another make but after a few shots it appears again. If you visit Canon support site it states that err 70 is a "malfunctions related to images have been detected".
Anybody else had this fault?
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 9th, 2011, 10:39 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: new jersey
Posts: 151
I have with magic lantern, you using ML?
Luke Gates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10th, 2011, 04:34 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
No as Magic Lantern is not officially out I am not using it. Most of the times in comes when I am in live view.
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2011, 10:17 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,063
Need more data - are you using a 3rd party battery? What type of card are you using? What type of shooting conditions have you been under? How many hours of shooting?

Do you erase you memory card in-camera, or by using a computer?

Give us your total workflow - it might offer a clue...
John Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2011, 01:42 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
John, I am using genuine Canon batteries and I have tried 3 different cards (Sandisk, Transcend and Canon). Various shooting conditions, in fact I tried similar conditions as before the fault appeared. I format the card inside the camera , the fault appears only after a few minutes of shooting. In any case I have sent the camera back to Canon and see what they have to say. The camera is only 2 months old so it's still under warranty.

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 01:10 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,684
I just had the same problem . I was using magic lantern. I also had a card in the camera that it turns out was was cracked. Also Canon batts
Leonard Levy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 04:21 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stelios Christofides View Post
No as Magic Lantern is not officially out I am not using it. Most of the times in comes when I am in live view.
I dont think you will ever see an official version of Magic Lantern. It is not commercial software, it is constantly evolving, with individuals finding a version that is stable and suits there particular needs. Its a wonderful and most welcome enhancement to the 550D, and I thank all those responsible for giving it to us. But to hope and wait for an official version of this hack, is I fear, wishful thinking. It has already proven itself to be extremely stable on cameras worldwide, it can only get better, not official.
__________________
Colin

Last edited by Colin Rowe; February 17th, 2011 at 06:00 PM.
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2011, 07:51 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Leonard found this for a solution to the error 70:

--power down camera and remove battery
--power down HDMI device or powered adapter
--unplug the HDMI from the body, then plug it back in
--power up HDMI device or powered adapter
--insert battery and power up camera

Stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network