Best codec for editing with FCP 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 15th, 2011, 09:45 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
Best codec for editing with FCP 7

Hey guys! So I'm finally getting my T2i in about a week (woot woot!!) and I was wondering what was the best codec for editing with Final cut pro 7? And since I've never done that, is it as easy as downloading a software, importing your videos and press "transcode into this or that codec"?

Thanks!
Anas El-Biad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 09:59 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Mesa, AZ
Posts: 1,384
Lots of threads on this but in a nutshell, ProRes 422 1920x1080 and whatever frame rate you shoot.
How you get there is the real debate.
I use mpeg streamclip (free app) which does batch processing.
Cineform seems to be the other popular method.
Happy shooting!
__________________
A7RII, C100, 1Dx, 5Dmk3, 70D, Kessler goodies, Adobe, Pro Tools and more!
Robert Turchick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 10:12 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
Thanks Robert!

I'm so excited, after months and months of watching test videos, short movies and all kind of stuff shot on the t2i and trying to learn as much as possible about DSLR video shooting, i'm finally getting it!
Anas El-Biad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2011, 11:32 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Hi Anas,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anas El-Biad View Post
Hey guys! So I'm finally getting my T2i in about a week (woot woot!!) and I was wondering what was the best codec for editing with Final cut pro 7? And since I've never done that, is it as easy as downloading a software, importing your videos and press "transcode into this or that codec"?
Thanks!
Like Robert I encode to ProRes - the (LT) version. There are lots of comments that (LT) and the standard ProRes are virtually impossible to tell apart and (LT) saves a lot of disk space. The LT file sizes for 24/1080p are approximately 50% greater than the original H.264 files from the camera. So 8GB of H.264 translates (roughly) into 12GB of ProRes (LT). Below is a quick walk through if you'd like to give MPEG Streamclip a try:

~ H.264 TO PRORES LT WITH MPEG STEAMCLIP ~
__________________
WeddingFilms.com>>
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17th, 2011, 08:33 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 346
Agreed, ProRes LT is the way to go. You can also download the EOS E1 pluton for Final Cut Pro to capture and transcode instead of MPEG Streamclip. It's slightly slower but many have decided the end result looks better. It should be seen in the drivers/software tab of Canon's product page after you select your OS.

Canon U.S.A. : Consumer & Home Office : EOS 60D
__________________
David Chapman
www.davechapfilms.com
David Chapman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 18th, 2011, 09:20 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
Thanks guys!

The store should call me very soon to come and pick up my t2i, I can't wait.
Anas El-Biad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19th, 2011, 06:03 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Just to echo what others have said, we're using ProRes 422 (LT) to edit all our DSLR footage and have seen no real detrimental effects and we're glad of the small files sizes !
__________________
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22nd, 2011, 07:41 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
It's great to see everyone backing ProRes LT. Yes, so do I, with the venerable MPEG StreamClip. One more thing to add to the mix: as I often work at 720p (great for Web, SD, WMV in PPT, and more importantly, less pixels to share the 35 Mbit bandwidth) in fast turnaround, I've found it useful to shoot 1080p and downres to 720p ProRes LT for editing amongst XDCAM EX 720p.

This can reduce quite a bit of the aliasing that crops up (but not all, and moire isn't helped at all), but even better: the LT version of the rushes are SMALLER than the H.264 originals. It makes a difference when you're shooting and editing in the field, backing up and moving projects around.
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2011, 10:54 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 689
Hi Matt,

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Daviss View Post
One more thing to add to the mix: as I often work at 720p (great for Web, SD, WMV in PPT, and more importantly, less pixels to share the 35 Mbit bandwidth) in fast turnaround, I've found it useful to shoot 1080p and downres to 720p ProRes LT for editing amongst XDCAM EX 720p.

This can reduce quite a bit of the aliasing that crops up (but not all, and moire isn't helped at all), but even better: the LT version of the rushes are SMALLER than the H.264 originals. It makes a difference when you're shooting and editing in the field, backing up and moving projects around.
Never occurred to me but its a great idea. I'm not seeing any interest in Blu-ray and have to convert everything anyway. Will do a test with 720p this week...
__________________
WeddingFilms.com>>
Joel Peregrine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2011, 12:10 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 33
Thanks guys I appreciate it.
Anas El-Biad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2011, 05:07 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Hitchin UK
Posts: 66
I gotta say i'm backing Magic Bullet Grinder all the way.

I transcode to Pro Res 422 (not LT)...quite big files, but Grinder makes it really easy. It can even burn in timecode and generate proxies if you need them. For 50 it's a bargain.

S
Sean Vincent is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2011, 12:37 PM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,562
Lissen to da man... No dissen...

YouTube - EightclipAnonymous "I The Pro Res Maker"
__________________
Director/Editor - MDMA Ltd: Write, Shoot, Edit, Publish - mattdavis.pro
EX1 x2, C100 --> FCPX & PPro6
Matt Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 28th, 2011, 12:22 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 135
Re: Best codec for editing with FCP 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt Daviss View Post
I love that video! Too funny and FUN!
Lisa Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7th, 2011, 09:11 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 204
Re: Best codec for editing with FCP 7

Best codec for FCP? Premiere CS5. ;)
Lloyd Ubshura is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network