Grid Display at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 30th, 2011, 08:04 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Grid Display

I have grid display #1(the "tic tac toe") enabled, and enabled under Menu Functions. However, I can not get this display (grid#1) to turn on in the viewfinder, only on the lcd in Live View. I can only see grid #2 even when grid #1 is selected. What am I missing? Thanks.
Rick Mize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 12:38 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Unless this is a feature of the 7D which is not available on the 5D mk II, you won't see the grid patterns in the viewfinder, as the viewfinder is showing you what the lens is seeing (via a mirror and a prism). The LCD is a digital representation of what is coming through the lens, with other information (shutter, aperture, ISO, etc, etc) added. If you select the grid display, that's just another overlay that will be shown on the LCD. It can't be displayed on the viewfinder since there's no mechanism to project the grid onto the viewfinder. You can, of course, replace the ground glass screen in the viewfinder, with a different one, which may have a grid physically ground into it, but there's no way to "turn it off", without removing it again.
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 03:16 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 29
In the menu the second yellow section (with the spanner icon) at the bottom is VF grid display, this enables/disables the grid in the viewfinder on a 7D
Sonny Horsfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 05:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California USA
Posts: 576
Interesting!! I didn't know the 7D had that feature. The 5D mk II does not. I feel cheated! :-)
Julian Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2011, 07:14 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
I have enabled it, but Grid #1 will not display in the viewfinder, only on the lcd in Live View. What am I missing? Thanks.
Rick Mize is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2011, 06:34 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Leeds, UK
Posts: 29
Ah, I think I see what your saying now, grid #1 and grid #2 only apply to the LCD, there is only 1 grid type in the veiwfinder which I guess looks a bit like grid #2.

Julian, don't feel too cheated, the 7D has a fixed screen so no ability to interchange to more specialized screens!
Sonny Horsfall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 31st, 2011, 12:52 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks...too bad...I am not too fond of using the lcd when using the camera, prefer the viewfinder.
Rick Mize is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:26 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network