7d timer/remote question. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 54
7d timer/remote question.

Hey guys I searched the forums and didn't find the answer to this.
I'm a relatively new user of the 7d and love it! I recently purchased a new timer/remote for shooting timelapses and am having no luck getting it to work.

It is specified to work with the 7d but when I set the timer and start it, it counts down and everything but won't cause the camera to shoot for some reason.

I'm wondering if I'm missing something obvious in the 7d Menu settings to allow this to control it? Thanks in advance for your help!
__________________
Jeffrey Kauffman
www.reflectionography.net
Jeffrey Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 02:03 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Search this forum for Intervalometer should pull up all the historical stuff. An example thread below:

http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/canon-eo...alometers.html

Which one did you buy? If you give us the exact model maybe someone who has that same model can post helpful hints. By the way, the 7D needs to be in 'single shot shooting mode' (if I remember correctly).
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 02:37 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 54
Thanks Andy.
This is the product I purchased to use. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003F69JBW/ref=oss_productLike I said, out of the box it turns on and everything. I just can't get it to communicate with my camera. Any advice anyone? Is there a simple setting on the 7d I'm missing?
__________________
Jeffrey Kauffman
www.reflectionography.net
Jeffrey Kauffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 03:22 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 528
Do you have the intervalometer set to interval-timer mode? On the cheapo ones which I think you have, it is an icon that looks like a series of tiny bars. Then you set the interval between exposures. The timer will determin the number of exposures, so you have to do some maths.
Jon Braeley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2011, 09:09 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Vancouver B.C. Canada
Posts: 19
I have the same one and it works well with my 7D. Do you have the manual? The little bar above the number effects different settings such as how long the exposure is, and how much duration between exposures, how many exposures etc... Make sure you plugin the remote and turn it on before you turn the camera on and then try hitting the shutter button on the remote to see if it indeed actuates the shutter. You could have a dud.
__________________
www.roblyons.ca
Rob Lyons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2011, 08:16 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lancaster PA
Posts: 54
Thanks guys for trying to help. Frustration is pretty high right now. I've figured out the settings on the device. It's counting down and everything appears to be functioning correctly. It just wont manipulate the camera. Even if I press the shutter button on the timer it won't affect the camera.
__________________
Jeffrey Kauffman
www.reflectionography.net
Jeffrey Kauffman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network