60D + Cineform ( ReMaster settings ) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 8th, 2011, 07:08 PM   #1
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Sanfrancisco, CA
Posts: 2
60D + Cineform ( ReMaster settings )


I was wondering if anyone else around here has a 60D and is using ReMaster to transcode their h264 into Cineform codec?

If so - what settings were you using on your input file?

Im at this so far:

Limit YUV ( 5D ) - it says 5D but Im wondering if this is also applicable to 7D and 60D family??
420 to 422 filter ( check ON )
601 Source ( check ON ) -- I know that I read previously that Canons are sadly producing 601 color space but has this changed with newer models or firmware?

Anyone else using Cineform stuff and a 60D around here?


T.J. Marbois is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 24th, 2011, 03:45 PM   #2
New Boot
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Re: 60D + Cineform ( ReMaster settings )

I'm currently using Cineform. The settings you described are the correct ones to transcode to Cineform to the best of my knowledge.

I have found that this is the best way to use footage from Canon, 5D, 7D, 60D etc. It handles the colorspace very well and also minimized the aliasing to a minimum, giving you a beautiful picture to work with. We are now testing this method for a feature film taking the footage from Cineform, grade and to DCP for cinema.

Bragi Hinriksson, Little Big Films, Iceland.
Bragi Hinriksson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2011, 10:55 AM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brasil
Posts: 304
Re: 60D + Cineform ( ReMaster settings )

Lately, I`ve had serious and unsolved problems with neoscene (Cineform) after transcoding stuff from Canon HV20 (HDV) using Vegas 9.e, despite the good quality of the codec .
Afterwards, I used a solution to transcode stuff from Canon T2i to my Vegas 9.e that have been working very well: I trancoded to Sony MXF 1920X1080 and couldn`t notice any diference from the original.
If you use Vegas 10, you can edit from the Canon original.
Ron German is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:11 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network