Mixing 7D footage w/ JVC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 28th, 2011, 05:04 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 26
Mixing 7D footage w/ JVC

I recently shot a fitness video using a JVC GY-HM700 as my primary camera, and two 7Ds as my secondary cameras. I'm having trouble with the footage on the backend.

I ran all the files through streamclip thinking that if I use the same setting, it would work together - but when I lay that footage on a timeline in FCP, I have to render and it takes FOREVER. If I use the native JVC footage, it plays fine on the timeline, but the 7D footage, native or converted, won't work.

Does anyone have any MPEG streamclip settings that I can run the 7D footage through to make it compatible with the JVC native footage? Or a setting I can run them all through to make them all work, but save me from a 5+ hour render before I even start editing?

Thanks!

Last edited by Steve Crawford; April 29th, 2011 at 10:21 AM.
Steve Crawford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 10:46 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Gloucs, UK
Posts: 200
Re: Mixing 7D footage w/ JVC

The first question has to be - what setting did you convert all the file to in MPEGStreamclip?

The JVC is optimised for FCP, the 7D is not and neither is the H264 codec the 7D uses (it is not an editing codec). Your project settings in FCP are also crucial (as is having a machine up to the job).

Personally, If I'd used a 700 as a main camera, I'd have used (hired) a couple of HM100's as additional cameras - they use the same file format/codec as the 700.
Dave Farrants is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 29th, 2011, 10:31 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 127
Re: Mixing 7D footage w/ JVC

I have the HM-100 and a 60D. The best thing to do is convert the EOS footage to XDcamEX codec in Streamclip or Quicktime player 7.
Alan Halfhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 1st, 2011, 09:54 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 937
Re: Mixing 7D footage w/ JVC

If you have FCP, why not use log & transfer, compressor or media manager?

I'd say when you bring your footage in, use log & transfer & then you're set from the get go.

But since you're already past that & have started editing (Right?), media manager is probably the best choice. Just select a sequence with all the footage you want to use & then go through the media manager settings & select "Copy" ... select the best codec (Prores or XDCam EX I'd reccommend) & then all your assets will be in the same codec & less time to render.
__________________
Nothing says you're a serious video maker like S-VHS
Zach Love is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network