stabiliser for 60d at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 5th, 2011, 03:50 AM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
stabiliser for 60d

Ok weddings as you know, got to be quick no time to mess around, what is the best, but the quickest methods on and of the tripod onto the glider/flycam/wondlan/merlin/glidecam/ect ect. i presume the shots are bride/groom down isle/ coming out of church married/ in and around photo shoot/ going into reception grand entrance ect ect
I tried a cheap stabilser steadicam/mini motion, no good it takes to long to balance and mess around, so anyone with ideas of the simplist and easiest steadycam?? I want to take of tripod put on the steady and its ready to go??? steve
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2011, 05:16 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Re: stabiliser for 60d

How about this:
FLYCAM nano for mini dv hdv camcorders upto 1.5 Lbs

stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 5th, 2011, 12:59 PM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bleasdale View Post
anyone with ideas of the simplist and easiest steadycam?? I want to take of tripod put on the steady and its ready to go??? steve
If properly balanced, transition from tripod to any more or less decent unit, no matter hand held or full rig, can be made within 10-15 seconds, but I am not sure if you can 'put it on and go', maybe with the primes, and if you have a hard stop on the QR adapter, but if you use zoom lens and you're changing focal length you need to rebalance your rig;
easy and steadicam, they donít come together
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 12:47 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 135
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Steve,

I have the Glidecam 2000HD and it is fast to stick my 60D on as long as I'm only using one lens (Tokina 11-16). Have it pre-balanced and a QR plate that's universal for all your equipment and it snaps on and is ready to go. Just test out the Glidecam once you arrive to make sure it didn't get messed up during travel.

Don't know about having to switch lenses though. That takes time.
Lisa Maxwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16th, 2011, 03:29 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Thanks Lisa got the flycam nano set it up and marked it ready for my 60d with 17-50 tamron at 17 widest... You have a point though with regards to changing lens it cant be done so that means if you go the dslr route you need 3 dslr because there is no time..... is dslr worth the hassle? soooooooo much to think about????
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 20th, 2011, 08:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Glasgow, Scotland, UK
Posts: 309
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisa Maxwell View Post
Steve,

I have the Glidecam 2000HD and it is fast to stick my 60D on as long as I'm only using one lens (Tokina 11-16). Have it pre-balanced and a QR plate that's universal for all your equipment and it snaps on and is ready to go. Just test out the Glidecam once you arrive to make sure it didn't get messed up during travel.

Don't know about having to switch lenses though. That takes time.
Which universal qr plate do you use?
James Strange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2011, 02:02 AM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Hi James here is my link

Quick Release (QR) Adapter Manfrotto 200PL-14 Fit 3/8" | eBay UK
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 03:21 AM   #8
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 7
Re: stabiliser for 60d

I have the flycam nano and 60D + Tokina 11-16

I found it very difficult to balance the 60D on flycam nano due to the weight
Jackson Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 04:10 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Jackson your right i now use the hv40 on the nano and got it just right, it bobs a little but what i use it for will just help it along with a couple of fingers underneath...
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 04:17 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Re: stabiliser for 60d

I'm shooting my first all-DSLR wedding this weekend (doing it free for a family friend and using this one as a gear trial and a promo vid) and have been having the same question.

I think what I'll do is use the 70-200 for most of the ceremony, with the lens collor mounted to the tripod. I'll have the Flycam Nano pre-balanced of course, so all I'll need to do is remove the 550D body from the 70-200, attach the 10-20mm and then clip the camera into the QR adaptor on the Flycam.

Shouldn't take more than 10 seconds, assuming I can replicate my practice times whilst under pressure on the day.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22nd, 2011, 04:37 AM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Ye that should do it john... if all goes well and people are relaxed and not rushing around it makes it harder as then you have no time to ............! When its pre balanced like me yesterday it works a treat, couple of fingers underneath the gimble... i found walking fast and turning/bending better as straight lines its evident to see a bit of bobbing and weaving..
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 02:03 AM   #12
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 7
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Glad you guys can get the nano balance with the 60D..

I can't do it with my life depend on it.

I am using the flycam nano with a light camcorder now.. It is way easier to balance. :)
Jackson Wan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31st, 2011, 10:13 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: England liverpool
Posts: 1,312
Re: stabiliser for 60d

Jackson you're right, but I have used it with the HV40 with fisheye, it does work best that way, but also worked with 60D and 17-50 Tamron just add more weights.
Steve Bleasdale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:35 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network