How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 4th, 2011, 07:51 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 26
How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

I know it has probably been a topic of discussion at some point in this or other forums regarding DSLR video acquisition, but I would be most grateful to the community for hints or pointers to threads that talk about how to convert / import T2i / T3i .mov files into editing software of any kind and more specifically into FCP? I know there is a solution from Canon for the 60D but don't see one (yet - there may never be one) for the Rebel series (T2i, T3i). Thank you - this may save me a lot leg work in sussing this out.
Duane Harper Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 4th, 2011, 09:42 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 786
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Hi Duane.

I've only been researching the T3i since yesterday (when I decided I might pick one up next month for some small personal side projects).

I found this FCP plug-in for Canon which (apparently) lets you directly use the Log and Transfer function in FCP.

According to Canon:

"This plug-in application is for Final Cut Pro, which was released for users of EOS Digital and Final Cut Pro. This plug-in allows you to use the Log and Transfer function to edit movies captured with the EOS cameras."

So it looks like it "might" be suitable for T3i (and any other EOS camera).

Follow this link:

Canon U.S.A. : Professional Imaging Products : EOS 5D Mark II

and then, from the drop-down menu in the "Drivers & Software" section, select "Mac OS X" and then a bar called "Software" will then appear underneath. Click "Software" and a list will appear. About the third one down you will find a plug-in called "EOS MOVIE Plugin-E1 for Final Cut Pro Ver1.2" (File Name: ce1120x.dmg.zip)

Only experienced T2i/T3i users can actually tell you if this really works, but I love using the Log and Transfer plug-in from Sony when working with my EX1R footage, so I imagine that the functionality might be similar. But, as I said, only experienced users can say how truly workable this solution is.
David Knaggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2011, 04:51 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 26
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Thanks very much David. I will give this a shot. I knew about this but because Canon did not list the Rebel Cameras at all in the supported devices I reckoned that that omission was intentional and it would not work but again, this is worth a try. I will let you know.

I wonder how Premiere handles the .mov files and what those editors are using if they need any conversion. I did a little experiment with I movie (9) to directly import .mov files. The results were not usable at all.

Thanks
Duane Harper Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2011, 06:39 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Walworth, NY
Posts: 291
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Duane,

In Premiere the files import just fine.
__________________
Dave Chilson
www.loc.org
David Chilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 5th, 2011, 12:00 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 26
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Good to know David. Seems Adobe has a few legs up and are on the ball over Apple. To bad for me the price of CS5 is out of my league just now 'cause I would seriously consider bolting from FCP.

Thanks!
Duane Harper Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 03:54 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Angelo Texas
Posts: 1,510
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

If you're willing to try a PC, I just installed Avid's Pinnacle Studio 15 on my year and a half old Core i7 2.66Ghz processor based Dell and the .MOV files from my 7D, T2i, and 60D edit "natively" with no conversion, transcoding, or other "tap dance" required.

It will take a fast multi core (quad core or six core) processor based computer but that's where everything seems to be heading anyway.
Bruce Foreman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 6th, 2011, 11:53 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 26
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Hi Bruce,

Thank you - that is very interesting. I do have an intel mac running a 2.3GHz i7 processor which I just got, but this machine will run windows apps with parallels. It may be something to consider down the line. I am still sussing this out. I have found some interesting things but too random to report on now. Meanwhile, I'm dusting off my tap shoes.
Duane Harper Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 8th, 2011, 12:11 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 323
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

use the free MPEG StreamClip to batch convert your .Mov H.264 to Prores LT or ProRes what ever you prefer. It much faster then the log and transfer
Thanh Nguyen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 25th, 2011, 08:30 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 26
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanh Nguyen View Post
use the free MPEG StreamClip to batch convert your .Mov H.264 to Prores LT or ProRes what ever you prefer. It much faster then the log and transfer
Thanks Thanh,
I have been meaning to update this thread. I did get this free program and tried it and it worked really well. Good recommendation. I used the Apple ProRes 422 option from quick time options box then imported the footage into FCP. Log and transfer not needed. Video worked great in the time line. Can do batch conversions too.
Thanks!
Duane Harper Grant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 30th, 2011, 08:06 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

The advantage of using Log & Transfer versus blindly converting all your video clips to ProRes is twofold as you get to quickly skim through the clips marking in & out points & only need to convert to ProRes what you actually want & need & not every last second that you shot.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 08:58 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Nigel, you can trim in MPEG Streamclip, too. Not in batch, but it can easily be done.
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2011, 01:19 PM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 3,445
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan Cantwell View Post
Nigel, you can trim in MPEG Streamclip, too. Not in batch, but it can easily be done.
I know that but quickly being able to skim through all the clips mark in & out points & send them off to the queue to be converted to ProRes is much nice & more easily done with Log & Transfer.
Nigel Barker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2011, 10:18 AM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: new york city
Posts: 113
Re: How to convert Canon T3i .mov files for editing in FCP etc...?

The other big advantage of Log & Transfer is that it should convert your time-of-day timestamp into timecode, which is very useful. If you don't care about TC, then Compressor is a much better solution than mpeg streamclip or FCP. I've found that ProRes LT is just as good as ProRes and much smaller- but I haven't done any heavy compositing with this footage.
David St. Juskow is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:11 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network