Time lapse questions. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 5th, 2012, 02:49 PM   #1
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, Fl.
Posts: 1,842
Time lapse questions.

I've been called to do a time lapse shoot at a facility oing 2 days of set up for a big event. They want the same shot over a two day period and want me to give them a vido clip between 1.5 and 2 minutes. I've never done time lapse with my 7d, and hopefully somebody can point me in the right direction.
I have plenty of cf cards, 5 batteries and a pearstone "shutter boss" which I guess lets you do all the timed shots. I was also thinking of getting the ac adapter for the 7d, so as to not have to change batteries.
We edit in Premiere CS5, which is where , hopefully. we'll do this.

If anyone can point me in the direction of a tutorialo about how to shoot this thing the simplest way possible, that would be great. Also, how do I calculate the number of shots I'd have to get per hour, in order to end up with a finished clip that's 1.5- 2 minutes long?
Thanks
Bruce Yarock
Bruce S. Yarock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6th, 2012, 02:03 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 94
Re: Time lapse questions.

I haven't done timelapse over anything more than a few hours, so I'll refrain from advising any more than to say a quick google search should bring up plenty of solid youtube tutorials.

As for calculating the number of shots, pretty straightforward math.
Figure out your target frame rate.
Let's assume 24 frames per second.
And say we want a two minute video, that's 120 seconds.
120 x 24 = 2,880 frames.

Those frames need to happen over a two day period, or 48 hours.

2880/48 = 60 shots per hour, or one shot every minute (an interval of 60 seconds).

So let's check that math. We're doing one shot every minute. That's sixty shots per hour. Twenty-four hours in a day means 60 x 24 = 1440 shots per day. Two days is 1440 x 2 = 2880. Twenty-four frames per second is 2880/24 = 120 seconds, or two minutes for your final video.

So to plug in your own desired settings, the formula would be
[(framerate) x (total seconds in the video)] / (number of hours you'll be shooting) = shots per hour (divide by 60 for shots per minute)

Anyone want to check that math?
Alex Payne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2012, 06:24 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 696
Re: Time lapse questions.

Bruce,

I think that Alex has his math right on this. Make sure that you are shooting JPEG and not RAW. You will need to fit all the stills on one card, unless you want to take a chance and change cards between shots. You might end up moving the camera though. If you shot medium sized JPEG files on a 32 gig card I would think that you should be able to get them all on the one card.

You can use CS5, but it is much quicker and easier to use Quicktime Pro 7 if you are on a Mac. The other thing to figure out is how do you set up the camera. Since you are doing this over two days and will have two day to night changes, I would probably set the camera on aperture priority.

I do a couple of practice runs as well if I were you, but I am guessing that you already decided to do that.

Good luck,

Daniel Weber
Daniel Weber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2012, 09:16 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
Re: Time lapse questions.

So, I am guessing you have to have some external device to trigger the shots on a 7D? I have never shot a time lapse but I would like to try it. Is there a preferred device for the triggering?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7th, 2012, 07:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 259
Re: Time lapse questions.

-Use a manual lens that does not 'speak' to the camera...you'll avoid flicker

-put some black tape over the eyepiece (it leaks light...I have proof, can show you a still) and you'll avoid more flicker

- foreground object, preferably static, will add depth

- if you are in Ap priorty, stick with it for sure but try and drag your shutter by stopping down.

here is a link that worked for me:

RAW workflow for timelapse | Philip Bloom
Chris Westerstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2012, 12:37 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Re: Time lapse questions.

With a lens that doesn't have an aperture ring, you can set the aperture, hold the DOF button (next to the lens) and untwist the lens a few degrees to disconnect the electrical connection. Now you can shoot without flicker.

I've done this a number of times and have never come close to dropping a lens. It's more secure than it sounds. :)
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2012, 12:55 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: Time lapse questions.

Will one minute between action catch enough without missing something? I.e. 1 minute is way to long for catching moonrise.

And practice before hand!
__________________
Al
Upper left hand corner of the map
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2012, 07:53 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 848
Re: Time lapse questions.

The 7D came with a cover for the eyepiece. You can take away frames that you shot but you can't add those you didn't, so oversampling is OK. Resolution needn't be set too high, but high resolution allows for motion effects.
Jim Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2012, 08:52 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ogden
Posts: 161
Re: Time lapse questions.

I'd rent an EX1 or something.

Canon has tested the shutter unit to provide (on average) 150,000 shots before it breaks.

So if you shoot an hour timelapse at 1 shot per second, your camera will take an average of 41 timelapses before it breaks. Enjoy 1 of 41.....
Annen James is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 17th, 2012, 09:25 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 848
Re: Time lapse questions.

Shutter replacement is only a couple hundred bucks. I wouldn't worry about it.
Jim Michael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 18th, 2012, 09:59 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai, India
Posts: 1,385
Re: Time lapse questions.

Here's a discussion I had earlier that might of help: 60 day time lapse DSLR
__________________
Get the Free Comprehensive Guide to Rigging ANY Camera - one guide to rig them all - DSLRs to the Arri Alexa.
Sareesh Sudhakaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10th, 2012, 07:28 PM   #12
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 112
Re: Time lapse questions.

I haven't done this with a 7d (dont have mine yet) but why not do it with a Go Pro hero 2 it does nice time lapses. as far as editing just high light the batch of photos go to the top menu your looking for "speed" and set that number very low drag to timeline and your done.
Tom Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 13th, 2012, 09:36 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 1,430
Re: Time lapse questions.

How can a Go Pro 2 shoot for 2 days? There is no AC adapter, and if you change the battery, there is no way to do it without moving the camera.
Warren Kawamoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 14th, 2012, 10:54 AM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 112
Re: Time lapse questions.

use 2 go pros.. lock the housing down and just change the camera. im not sure but you may be able to use extended batteries and change them with in a few seconds
Tom Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2012, 07:16 AM   #15
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 576
Re: Time lapse questions.

Get a Brinno TLC200, does the trick.
Lee Mullen is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network