T4i second camera to 5DMk3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 10th, 2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Just saw the T4i and it uses a lot of the same technology that my 5Dmk3 uses so this seems like a better first camera/second camera match than the t2i i'm using now.

Next I see two STM "quiet" AF lenses -
40mm f2.8
and a
18-135 3.5-5.6 IS

Thinking the IS would be preferable even with the slower Fs but I know a lot of ISs are noisy.

Anyone got either or both combinations of the t4i with these STM lenses?
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10th, 2012, 07:07 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

I feel like the nosebleed kid here.. no one walk before thee? hahahahahaha.....
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 02:42 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 513
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Harry - I rented the http://www.amazon.com/Canon-Digital-Camera-3-inch-Touchscreen/dp/B00894YYP6?tag=battleforthew-20 and the http://www.amazon.com/Canon-40mm-2-8-STM-Lens/dp/B00894YP00 a couple of months ago. I liked the touch screen autofocus a lot, but I thought the STM lens was noisy compared to my Panasonic GH2's silent autofocus lenses.

Hope this is helpful,

Bill
Hybrid Camera Revolution
Bill Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 08:54 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Thanks Bill,

Did your audio pick it up? I often use a RODE SVM mic attached to the hotshoe and wondered if it would pick up this lens sound. Even if I'm doing off camera audio I need audio from the camera for reference.

Thanks
Harry
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 08:58 AM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Simpson View Post
Just saw the T4i and it uses a lot of the same technology that my 5Dmk3 uses so this seems like a better first camera/second camera match than the t2i i'm using now
yes it is newer and it is better, i shoot it as a B cam for Mark 3, STM lenses do not work for me, so half of my shooting is 17-55mm and low light Rokinon primes, but i have to tell you, same manufacturer WB presets are look completely different on two cameras, so it's always manual.
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 09:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Nashville, TN.
Posts: 581
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Thanks Buba,

I figured the same digic5 processor would be a plus and the t4i does better low light than the T2i i would expect. do you ever "fly" the t4i on a Blackbird or Steadycam and it so have you had decent success with the AF at all for video?
__________________
Nashville TN using Canon 5D MK3, Canon 550D, RODE SVM mic, 70-200 f2.8L II IS, 24-105 f4L IS, 50 and 85 f/1.8, Vegas Pro 11, Zoom H4n, Blackbird, Lilliput Monitor, Lightroom
Harry Simpson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 04:12 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buba Kastorski View Post
yes it is newer and it is better
Does it still have moire issues?
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11th, 2012, 08:38 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Simpson View Post
Thanks Buba,

I figured the same digic5 processor would be a plus and the t4i does better low light than the T2i i would expect. do you ever "fly" the t4i on a Blackbird or Steadycam and it so have you had decent success with the AF at all for video?
I tried to fly it hand held, but you have to stay hyperfocal all the time, and I like to move a lot and zoom a lot when I fly :)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Noa Put View Post
Does it still have moire issues?
I haven't noticed, it must be better :)
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 03:19 AM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

How do you zoom that smooth with a dslr while flying a steadicam ??
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 03:28 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Nicosia, CYPRUS
Posts: 1,080
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

So what I always say is "long live the camcorder"....

stelios
__________________
My Blog: http://steliosc.blogspot.com
"I hope for nothing, I fear nothing, I am free" Nikos Kazantzakis
Stelios Christofides is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 04:05 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

My thought exactly :) but since we are talking about dslr's here I couldn't believe that steadicam shot was coming from such a camera.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 04:06 AM   #12
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Quote:
I haven't noticed, it must be better :)
Anyone else using a t4i that can confirm the moire is completely gone in these new versions?
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 07:10 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,414
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Noa Put View Post
How do you zoom that smooth with a dslr while flying a steadicam ??
No, i am saying flying DSLR you have to stay hyperfocal, and I don't like that, i like to move without being afraid to get out of focus, and I like to zoom, this is not DSLR, it's EX1 on pilot
__________________
I love this place!
Buba Kastorski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 09:13 AM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,068
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

Quote:
this is not DSLR, it's EX1 on pilot
Ah, ok, I knew that wasn't a dslr shot but it was not clear from your post, thought you had a magic dslr zoom trick :)
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 12th, 2012, 12:32 PM   #15
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 747
Re: T4i second camera to 5DMk3

According to DxOMark - DxOMark by DxO Labs , T4i is worse the T2i and T3i in everything, go to that website and select the cameras and compare, T4i is the same as 650D
__________________
Khoi Pham
www.proeditproductions.com
Khoi Pham is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network