Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD
APS-C sensor cameras including the 80D, 70D, 7D Mk. II, 7D, EOS M and Rebel models for HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 13th, 2012, 04:42 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 595
Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

Surprised no one has posted this yet.
MagicLantern.fm - Magic Lantern on 7D ? YES !

http://www.magiclantern.fm/whats-new...alpha-released
Donald McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2012, 09:29 AM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cambridge UK
Posts: 2,835
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

The feature set looks good! I'm in the middle of some critical client work where my 7D has a part to play so can't risk trying it yet.

7D Magic Lantern Features:

Audio meters while recording
Zebras
Focus peaking
Magic Zooom (via half-shutter, or focus ring)
Cropmarks, Ghost image
Spotmeter
False color
Histogram, Waveform
Vectorscope
Movie logging
Movie auto stop
Trap focus
LiveView settings (brightness, contrast…)
Level indicator
Image review tweaks (quick zoom)
and a lot more
__________________
Andy K Wilkinson - http://www.shootingimage.co.uk
Cambridge (UK) Corporate Video Production
Andy Wilkinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 14th, 2012, 10:10 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

Superb! I was just contemplating moving to the gh3. I'll give this a try soon.
__________________
Al
Upper left hand corner of the map
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2012, 05:57 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Manhattan, New York
Posts: 11
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

what exactly is magic lantern??
Sachi Bahra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2012, 09:47 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 388
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

yesssssss! Finally!
__________________
Automotive Multimedia
Justin Molush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 16th, 2012, 11:41 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

When you download ML you get a folder that has 6 folders inside and a 7d000203_MLFIR file. The directions say to

1 Update camera firmware to 2.0.3.
Is that the firmware from canon or the one in the download
from ML?

2 Format your card from the camera.
Is that to get rid of the firmware from canon?

3 Extract contents of ML.ZIP into your cards root folder.
Is that everything ML folder and the included firmware named
7D000203_ML.FIR

4 Run firmware upgrade once again.
Is this the firmware that came with ML download?

Okay, I am sure this is obvious to most of you but I want to make sure I get it right so I do not brick may camera.
Thanks
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 10:39 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

1. That is the latest Canon Firmware--it must be installed for Magic Lantern to work with the 7D.

2. No the original Canon Firmware is not altered. This is just so there is nothing on the card, but your DCIM and Misc folders as put there by the camera after formatting. Leave those folders there.

3. Do step three, which I do by extracting on the computer and then copying and pasting the contents to the card (using a card reader)

4. Update firmware again. This is a bit confusing at first as it does not go through an extended install process as with a full version of magic lantern. This is an Alpha Version and it has to have the Magic Lantern Firmware loaded each time the camera is powered-up--otherwise only the Canon firmware is used. In fact you will not even notice Magic Lantern has loaded unless you press the erase button, which brings up the menu. A full version of Magic Lantern does install a boot flag so that Magic Lantern does load automatically when the camera is powered up, but if I understand correctly the version for the 7D and the 5D MK III does not at this point. With this version you must always power the camera up and then select firmware update and OK. I do have it set to load a custom crop mark, audio meters, and histogram in video mode, so once magic lantern loads those features are visible on the LCD as well as exposure information, etc.
__________________
Willard
http://pawildlifephotographer.blogspot.com/
Willard Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 12:49 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

Thanks Willard. Do you need the ML firmware on all your cards? Can you change cards after the firmware is loaded?
Ron Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 07:22 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

Yes you need the firmware on each card you are going to use.

Also you have to power down to change the card, and you must put the other card in and power up, which means you have to do the firmware upgrade thing again.

I may be wrong but I look at this more as just loading magic lantern manually other than doing an actual firmware upgrade. It is a pain to have to do it each time the camera is powered up.

If you are using the full version (not available on the 7D and 5D MK III yet), you have to have magic lantern installed on each card. It has been awhile since I did it, but I think you have to do the firmware update with each card you are going to use. From then on the camera will automatically boot to magic lantern when powered up as long as you are using one of these cards.
__________________
Willard
http://pawildlifephotographer.blogspot.com/
Willard Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2012, 08:21 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Port Townsend, WA
Posts: 445
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

I just went to look at downloading it, but it appears that this version is an alpha version. That means it's 'pre-beta'. I think I will wait until a bit later in the development cycle before jumping on. Products in that early a stage haven't yet been fully tested, and there is a higher than normal opportunity for it to have unpredictable results. FWIW.
Al Bergstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 18th, 2012, 07:29 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 595
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

Apparently they could change the bootflag. But not from the card they would have to do it through the Canon firmware but that would land them in trouble with Canon. You will have to wait until they figure it out to run like the t2i and others listed.
Donald McPherson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 20th, 2012, 12:28 PM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Pensacola Fl.
Posts: 627
Re: Magic Lantern. IT'S HERE

I read where they think that they will be able to get a clean HDMI out. Also that there may be a possibility of 422 in camera recording. That would be sensational.
Ron Little is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Crop Sensor for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:09 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network