Remote 5DmkII trigger thanks to Vincent Laforet at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 9th, 2008, 09:47 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
Remote 5DmkII trigger thanks to Vincent Laforet

Vincent is my new hero Tips and Tricks for the 5D MKII - Part I Vincent Laforet’s Blog

A simple IR remote will trigger the camera start/stop in Live View, the wifi pack will allow remote trigger too! Suddenly there are so many things I can do that I couldn't before!

Dan
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 10:03 AM   #2
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Thanks for the link, Dan -- I knew about the WiFi grip, but I didn't know that the little Canon IR remotes could trigger the movie mode, as described on page 125 of the manual (guess I should start reading the manual). The Canon parts are the RC-1 and RC-5; each is about $25.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 9th, 2008, 10:44 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beijing
Posts: 665
Yep, and I'm thinking 3rd party $15 clones from ebay should work just fine too. If someone is clever they could build an optical cable to run to the IR port so the trigger could be used from behind the camera too. I see plenty of custom options here.

Dan
Dan Chung is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:23 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 82
This would only be useful if you're happy with auto exposure.

In practice, I almost always need to turn the rear dial (exposure compensation) and push the exposure lock button each and every time before I start recording. When you stop, you lose the exposure settings and need to do the same thing all over again before you start again.

Sometimes, I just let the camera continue recording in between shots/scenes instead of stopping/starting just so that I don't lose the exposure lock/settings.
Bernard Racelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 06:59 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Riverside, Ca
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernard Racelis View Post
When you stop, you lose the exposure settings and need to do the same thing all over again before you start again.
GADS!!! That's AWFUL!!! TERRIBLE news!!!
For consistency, that's a frighting prospect to have to set exposure for every shot.
Don't get me wrong: I'd do a white balance and exposure for every setup, but not every shot...
Bummer, that...
Matthew Roddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 07:34 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bernard Racelis View Post
This would only be useful if you're happy with auto exposure.
Dan uses Nikon lenses with manual aperture, so he's not using auto exposure. The biggest risk might be ISO or shutter being off by a stop. Acceptable in most situations.
Don Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 10th, 2008, 09:55 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Miller View Post
Dan uses Nikon lenses with manual aperture, so he's not using auto exposure. The biggest risk might be ISO or shutter being off by a stop. Acceptable in most situations.
It's still autoexposure (aperture priority).
And the shutter and ISO are auto.
Bernard Racelis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 01:55 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 71
If Nikon lens is used, does the 5D Mk II still have auto focus in movie mode?
Kenneth Tong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2008, 11:10 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chicago
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth Tong View Post
If Nikon lens is used, does the 5D Mk II still have auto focus in movie mode?
With Canon glass it really t doesn't really have autofocus in movie mode. It's more like a blind person looking for a lost item.

With 3rd part glass you can zoom and focus before recording, but that's it.
Don Miller is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network