My FCP Workflow - Page 3 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old December 17th, 2008, 09:27 PM   #31
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Evan,

We found the same thing the Picture Style Editor user interface is worthless. I'm going to make another thread for the PSE.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 17th, 2008, 11:07 PM   #32
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
Evan,

What software/process did you use to create your curves in the pictures above? I thought I'd be able to do that in the PSE, but we're finding it to be less than user friendly.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 02:24 AM   #33
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 795
The example is from Color, unfortunately I've had no luck getting similar results in the picture style editor.
__________________
My latest short documentary: "Four Pauls: Bring the Hat Back!"
Evan Donn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 02:45 AM   #34
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Camas, WA, USA
Posts: 5,513
My math whiz son and I got something working in PSE. We're dealing with software installs and such right now, but once we get our tools set, we'll choose the best profiles and post the results in the PSE thread.
__________________
Jon Fairhurst
Jon Fairhurst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 18th, 2008, 05:22 PM   #35
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Munich Germany
Posts: 37
I found a workaround, but I have to admit its pretty hardware intensive.

I take the hdmi out signal from the 5d, go thru a convergent design konvertor which transfers the hdmi signal to Hd-SDI, and take that signal into the Backmagic HD capturing card.

Then I capture the signal to apple prores.

I admit its bizarre, and you could do it cheaper with a hdmi capture card from blackmagic, not to mention that you are losing all the nonlinear advantages of tapless recording.....

But in the end thats a way to get the signal into finalcut without the 16-235 problem.
Looks exactly like the hdmi output of the 5d
Holger Neuhaeuser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network