Mixing with HDV in FCP at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 17th, 2009, 10:01 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Mixing with HDV in FCP

Specifically for the Audio, Which I am running through an XL-H1,
I am shooting with both camera's simultaneously...
(The 5D footage kinda blows the HDV out of the water...)
But when I put the 5D footage & the HDV in the same timeline I have to re render every move I make to sync audio.
I thought in FC Studio 2 you could mix all sorts of footage in the same timeline

and FCP crashes every 3 minutes
any ideas?
Even trying the Cineform Trial
Thanks,
J
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 10:38 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
Hi John, You can mix footage together in FCP but in your case you have to have the sequence set to either HDV or H.264. FCP won't split codec encoding on a cut by cut basis.

If your H1 footage dominates I would transcode the 5D's H.264 to HDV at 1440x1080
then edit away.

You could also encode the H1 footage directly from tape using an intermediate format at capture either AIC or ProRes. Then transcode the 5D's footage to match.

If you bring your footage into Apple Colour for grading then you might as well go with the ProRes on both formats/cameras.

If you have gone to far down the road to recapture or re-encode footage you could always use 'Media Manager' in FCP. Under 'Media' select recompress and select the desired codec. Also make sure you tick duplicate footage as not to destroy your masters.
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 11:51 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
The way I do it is to transcode the 5D Footage to another format - ProRes (highest quality) or XDCAM EX (minimize file size), with MPEG Streamclip. MPEG Streamclip is a lot faster than Final Cut at transcoding (almost 7X on my computer). In MPEG Streamclip I set the frame rate to 29.97 so it's NTSC compatible. It might be dropping a frame every 30 seconds, but I haven't seen it yet. You could always retranscode a smaller portion of the clip if you did run into a dropped frame.

Then I set my sequence in Final Cut as ProRes 1920x1080. You'll have to render the HDV material after it's in the timeline, but you can edit with it at a lower res then hit Render at the end of the day.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 11:13 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
Actually it does drop frames when you convert it to 29.97. You can first interpret the file as 29.97 in Cinema Tools then do the conversion in MPEG Streamclip.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 17th, 2009, 11:25 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mount Rainier, MD
Posts: 428
Jeez, I can't get anything right. "Interpret As" is After Effects terminology. It's called "conform" in Cinema Tools. Do a batch conform to 29.97 for your whole folder of clips. It changes the audio sample rate to 44.05 now instead of 44.1. But that's no big deal since you'll want to bump it up to 48khz when transcoding with MPEG Streamclip.
Brett Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2009, 09:28 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Miller View Post

If your H1 footage dominates I would transcode the 5D's H.264 to HDV at 1440x1080
then edit away.

You could also encode the H1 footage directly from tape using an intermediate format at capture either AIC or ProRes. Then transcode the 5D's footage to match.

If you bring your footage into Apple Colour for grading then you might as well go with the ProRes on both formats/cameras.

If you have gone to far down the road to recapture or re-encode footage you could always use 'Media Manager' in FCP. Under 'Media' select recompress and select the desired codec. Also make sure you tick duplicate footage as not to destroy your masters.
Thanks All,
Actually the 5D footage dominates but I want the H1 sound
I guess the easiest workflow would be to transcode the HDV footage > h264
I like the ProRes - but then I m transcoding each
J
John Benton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 18th, 2009, 10:06 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sussex, UK
Posts: 317
John, You can capture directly to ProRes from tape on the H1. But that would require capturing again.

Also the ProRes takes less of a hit on your processors and might help with the crashes. Downside is prores takes a lot of disk space.
James Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2009, 09:03 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 658
Hello All,
I have rendered the MK2 footage AND the HDV footage to Pro Res 422
Via cinema tools and mPeg Streamclip
but I still have to render the Audio from both before I can Edit :
How would you recommend exporting the the Audio (in MpegStreamclip)
Should I have gone Uncompressed? I went with AIC & have to re render the Audio
Thanks for all the Help
John
John Benton is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:02 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network