How to avoid gamma shift on export? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Canon EOS Full Frame for HD
All about using the Canon 1D X, 6D, 5D Mk. IV / Mk. III / Mk. II D-SLR for 4K and HD video recording.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 27th, 2009, 06:00 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ireland
Posts: 55
How to avoid gamma shift on export?

I'm editing on Premiere CS3 on a PC and I'm trying to find a file format for delivery that will meet the following criteria:

1. To be played in Quicktime on a Mac
2. No gamma shift - what I see in Quicktime is what I see in Premiere
3. Plays smoothly in Quicktime
4. Compression artifacts at a minimum as the footage has fine tonal gradations
5. At least 720p, if not 1080 (to be shown on a digital projector, resolution to be confirmed)
6. CD quality audio at a minimum

So far, i've been trying various Export Movie options from Premiere as well as Adobe Media Encoder. I can't get good quality, smooth playback and correct gamma in any single configuration!

According to Chris Meyer's blog, the x264 codec avoids the gamma problem. I've been trying to figure out how to get that running on Windows. Would my best bet be to export losslessly from Premiere and then use some frontend GUI for x264 to transcode to mp4?

Or would I be better off forgetting about running it from a Mac and getting a Bluray player and burning it to Bluray with Encore?

Any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.
Mike Hannon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2009, 04:02 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 99
why not just render an animation compression quicktime?

if the playback device has a good speed harddrive, you can play this back in real time and its visually lossless compression.

since you have gradations, you are going to get banding if you render to something like h264, though adding noise/grain/debanding (which is precision noise) can help.

You can also make a 720/1080p h264 quicktime (aac 192 kbps audio) and then strip the gamma information away (there are free apps out there to do this)...which should fix the problem.
__________________
www.mografi.com
Joe Russ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 03:58 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: ireland
Posts: 55
Thanks for that tip Joe.

The Animation codec gives huge file sizes, so I think I'll settle on a Cineform AVI and install the NeoPlayer on the machine I'll be using. File sizes are not so bad
Mike Hannon is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Canon EOS / MXF / AVCHD / HDV / DV Camera Systems > Canon EOS Full Frame for HD

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network